You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Keeping You From Running Linux?

in #anarchy6 years ago

I ran Linux while in university. I was a computer science student, and we were pushed to use Windows and MS things. I got tired of how buggy Windows 98 (later I moved to NT4, later Windows 2000, later XP—all had problems) was so I moved to a custom install of Gentoo linux on my personal machine. Loved it.

These days tho I use Mac. I would go back to linux, but I just don't have the time to troubleshoot when problems arise or search for open source alternatives to apps. Mac has its own problems, but it does usually work without problems, even if that means our options are very limited.

But I do love linux. One of these days, when work lets up and my kids grow up and I have free time again, I may move back to it.

Sort:  

My next article is going to be about alternative apps. Anything in particular you need to use? I'll try to find all the things.

You might find that Linux is a ton less buggy than even a few years ago. Besides power flashes, this desktop I'm on has been running for several years without a hiccup and I have a habit of messing with things until they are broken.

I hope you give it another try when the next opportunity arises.

I don't usually mess around trying to fix stuff either. I just have a solid backup and I just nuke and pave.

Thanks for the comment.

Thank you for the offer. I'm sure it is more stable these days, and if I installed it again I would use one of the more newbie releases that do everything for you instead of Gentoo (which you build yourself step by step). But like I said... when my kids get older and I have more free time. Or when crypto goes to the moon and I can afford an early retirement ;)

As a professional photographer, I use photoshop daily. It is the single most important app in my life. Does linux have a decent alternative yet? I know Gimp, of course. But a dozen years ago when I last used it, it wasn't worthless.... but it wasn't good either.

I also used Marked a lot to convert my markdown and multimarkdown documents into other formats. I'm sure we have command line apps to do the same in Linux, but anything with a nice gui?

That is all that comes to mind for now. @ mention me in your next article so I don't miss it, please.

Gimp has certainly come a long way. If you are a pro photoshop user, I'm not sure how it will be to get along with. I'm sure it is powerful enough these days but when you know a tool, you might just not want to change. If that is the case, a quick search shows that you can install PhotoShop under Wine. Wine is "Wine is not a Window Emulator" - it is a system you can install on Linux that lets you install a lot of popular Windows things. Aparently, it works well for Photoshop and a bunch of the Adobe products.

Linux also has DarkTable which I use a lot. It is a comparable to Adobe's LightRoom.

I have looked for markup stuff too, but I never saw much that grabbed me. It was some time ago and it may be that I just don't know much about it. Short version, yes. How good? Not sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74