You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When will we wake up?

in #anarchy5 years ago

Bad philosophies create oppressive nation states. It's not the nation state (governments) that are the problem. Rather than blame the well, we must blame the ones who are poisoning the well.

Sort:  

I disagree. As evidence, I look to the concept of democide. Governments are institutions based on violent force. We can do better. Read War is a Racket by Smedly Butler. What you are calling government in a positive light ("the well") I would call instead "society" or "governance" or some other word that is voluntary and doesn't include threats of violent force which distort everything.

The real problem is the myth of authority.

I appreciate your straight-forwardness and I the links. That was very thoughtful.

I agree in non-violence, that taxation is an abuse of authority, that involuntary servitude (slavery) is morally wrong. I also agree that threats of violent force distorts moral truths. Might does not make right.

I disagree that authority is a myth. Even anarchists believe in "philosophical" authority: submit to this philosophy and the world will be a better place.

On a personal note:
I believe in the final authority (The Creator God), over human institutions. I choose to submit to that authority as a function of gratitude, before submitting to any "society" as best as I can. The bible records that Daniel was a government worker, but didn't stop praying to His authority, even when it resulted in worldly authorities tossing him to the lions. I also believe that the Most High God Himself established the nation states (kings), and He will cause them the prosper as long as they do not oppress their people and allow men to submit themselves to the Higher authority (King of kings). If the nation state rebels, the Most High will cause them to be destroyed until the people are humbled. Read Psalms 2

Thank you for the respectful reply. Though I no longer hold the same religious beliefs I once did, I can appreciate where you're coming from. When I was in that mindset, I found responses to Romans 13 type arguments helpful, but what really impacted me, I think, was studying logical fallacies and realizing that the version of authority I believed in was, in many ways, completely shaped by the religious (I'd argue, man made) traditions I was a part of. If I changed my alliance traditionally, I would find myself with a new set of authority, meaning it wasn't as final as I once believed.

As I go into in my post, I'm all about voluntary, earned authority. That's totally cool with me. When I talk about the myth, I mean that which drives humans to do things due to unearned authority, often held in place with violence.

Thanks for being open to ideas along your journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87