Anarchapulco: An Open Letter To Some Critics - and 6 things you might get out of it!

in #anarchy7 years ago

I’ve seen plenty of criticisms from the online anarchist community about Anarchapulco. Two of the most common I've seen: “Why spend all that time and money to attend an echo chamber?”, or the more ironically egotistical, “I don’t want to be subjected to all those self-important ‘celebritarians’.”

Of course, these criticisms are usually lobbed by people who have never actually attended an Anarchapulco event.

Here’s what I’ve gained from attending so far and why I never plan to miss another one.

1: I received validation.


I know the critics who rail against the echo chamber of ideas. But they are missing the point of connecting with like-minded people. The daily grind for most of us includes being surrounded by statists and it’s easy to begin to think that voluntaryism and anarchy are just philosophical ideas that are constantly thwarted. When you are surrounded by a few hundred people who are on the same page, many of them living examples of anarchism, you being to feel a sense of validation, hope, even optimism.

If you think you don’t need validation from anyone I think you’re lying to yourself. Yes, I’m secure enough to be able to stand up for ideas that may not be popular. I’m not a co-dependent. I’m actually a confident and secure person these days. I can be in a “no fucks given” state much of the time. But only a sociopath truly disregards any form of approval or validation of ideas. If you think you don’t need validation from anyone anytime, ever- then why is solitary confinement or ostracism so horribly damaging to the psyche?

2: I learned a lot.


If you think you’ve got it all figured out. You’re screwed. Anarchapulco brings together some great minds. Highly intelligent people who spend a lot of time learning about specific subjects. Many of them are not even the speakers from the stage, just the folks having conversations while sipping a Pina Colada next to the pool.

I learned information there that made me enough money to pay for the entire trip and then some. This isn't hyperbole. I literally came home with more money than I left with. (There’s another story there for a future post- stay tuned)

3: I was inspired to take further actions to promote freedom in my own life.


It’s no coincidence that I’m finally active on Steemit after a year of stagnation. Before the last Anarchapulco, I had fallen into a rut of thinking inside the box. I owned a business I was trying to sell and planned on working until I “saved up enough money to do X, Y, and Z.” But I’m 42 and ready for freedom now. Not later when I save up a pile of money. Not when I can replace my income with a location independent one.

I saw with my own eyes people who are living life mostly on their own terms, with less than I have. Having money is a great thing, but having creativity and a willingness to act on your ideas is priceless.

4: It’s sunny and warm and the food is fresh...in February.


Duh.


5: I believe we exist in order to have experiences .


If you haven't experienced a tropical climate...

...an open-air market of locally sourced food...

...or climbed ancient pyramids. You should. It will change you. It changed me.

You might not notice from this photo- I'm standing on the very top of the Pyramid Del Sol, the third largest pyramid in the world. Behind me is Pyramid De La Luna.

6: I met my other family there.


Kieran and I go back a few years, but only through the Voluntary Virtues show we used to co-host and occasional Facebook chats. The first Anarchapulco was the catalyst that brought us together to connect in person. We met Chris and Amy there and shared a day out on a small yacht with a handful of other awesome people (an amazing day I’ll share on a future post). I think for every one of us on the boat, that day is a lifetime highlight. It was that great. And now they are my family.

We have common ideals. Common goals. We’ve got each other’s back. We feed off each other’s ideas and we make each other laugh so hard it hurts. We have a future together.

Chosen families are the best!

The energy that I left with last year was felt by many. I’ve attended hundreds of conferences. That’s not a typo. I was a seminar junkie in my 20’s. Hungry for knowledge and seeking ways to develop myself. 100% of the time, I left inspired but proceeded to return to my old patterns.

Anarchapulco is different.

I have seen people who were there begin to implement plans. I’ve seen them making changes. Doing the work. Breaking their chains. My friend Leslie is just one example.

It’s now September and I have been on fire since February. Creating. Learning. Growing. Working. Investing.

Breaking free.

 

 

(As always, click on any image to see full size)

(disclaimer: I don’t work for the Anarchapulco event, nor do I have anything personally to gain by trying to sell you on the idea of going. But my mission in life is to develop self-ownership in myself and in others. I believe attending this event and really making an effort to connect to people there can change your life. I know it has mine.)

Anarchapulco Event Information

 

For the newbies:

Hello! I'm Cody Limbaugh. I encourage self-ownership, personal development, and living a life full of the best experiences. I write about it on Steemit and LiveAllYourLife.com

Subscribe in both places as I have exclusive content on each!

Comming Soon: only on my Steemit page- Free 6 Week Drawing Course!

and only on LiveAllYourLife.com: Uncut GoPro footage of my motorcycle ride through the Blue Mountains of Eastern Oregon!

I'm also honored to be one of the 1st4 of the Anarchist Brotherhood Motorcycle Club - which you'll be seeing a lot of if you follow my writing and videos!

Sort:  

Very nice post! I wish I can visit in 2018 for the first time. :)

I hope to see you there!

Upvoted and re-Steemed!

Much appreciated- thank you!

The term echo chamber is assigned to groups that become sealed off from the world.

The truth is, we actually need echo chamber like groups. We need to know that we are not crazy. We need to find ourselves among people that share and mirror our beliefs.

The dangers of an echo chamber is that you stay in them and never test your beliefs against the real world.

That's right. There is value in testing your ideas in both environments (and the spectrums between). Thanks for reading and commenting!

Loving the photos of the pyramids. Looks like you had a really good time at Anarchapulco. I've never attended that conference, but I do find some of the anarchist ideas interesting.

"If you think you don’t need validation from anyone anytime, ever- then why is solitary confinement or ostracism so horribly damaging to the psyche?"

Damaging to the psyche, or damaging to the ego?

Interesting question. It deserves consideration for sure. But I do think that 'we' (as a species) do need connection, and connection can come at a very deep level when you know you are with people who hold the same values. Particularly when those values represent peaceful, voluntary interactions.
I would love to meet you at the next event! I can tell, even by your short comment that you are a thoughtful person. Just the kind of person I would enjoy meeting.

Great post, Cody. These are exactly the points I'm always trying to make to the Anarchapulco detractors. This year, I only attended like 15% of the talks. I wasn't there to hobnob with celebritarians--i was there to engage in quality time with the quality of people I don't usually have access to at home, outside of my immediate family.

Another point I would make is that the conference organizers make it so easy to participate. If you have a talent to share or an idea for a talk or event, you will most like likely be able to slip into the schedule somewhere, or even make it happen off-schedule and off-premises.

Great point. it's amazing the balance that Nathan was able to achieve between having a growing, well organized, professional event, while at the same time remaining intimate and approachable.

I'm working on a pretty ambitious project I hope to present at the next Anarchapulco- but I haven't even mentioned it to Nathan yet. I guess I better get on that! LOL

I HOPE YOU'LL BE THERE!

Those are some amazing shots of Teotihuacan. Are those all yours?

I agree with everything you've written here. It's funny that people complain about celebritarians, because the great thing about Anarchapulco is that you see they're just people. There's a lot of gossip and bickering that goes on in the movement, and I suspect there will be a lot less once more folks have met people in person and truly know that they're flesh and blood.

From my perspective, the event is really building every year, not just in size but in energy. The general vibe this year just seemed really intense, a lot more hugging and genuine joyful positivity.. It felt like a vortex sending good energy to the universe.

Hopefully they'll let me in in February and i won't break my perfect attendance record.

Yes, all photos are mine. The Teotihuacan shots are from the first year and I had a Galaxy s4 at the time. The more recent shots are with my LG V10.

And yes, some of those "celebritarians" are my friends. I purposefully avoided mentioning the speakers in this post because I wanted to highlight the less obvious benefits of the conference. But the truth some of the talks this year were amazing! I literally almost cried with a sense of pride and hope at Jeffrey Tuckers talk. And he was just one of several awesome speakers.

I'll be there again this year. Feel free to reach out if you see me there!

Great post, Cody! Yes, I echo what you're saying this is a fabulous event that goes way beyond just the experience of the conference. I'm honored to have been the Master of Ceremonies for 2016 and 2017 and looking forward to doing it again in 2018. Meeting you and so many other wonderful people has been extraordinary. Looking forward to seeing you again for Anarcapulco 2018.

@terrybrock ! Thank you. That means a lot!

I'm excited to hear you'll be M.O.C. again for 2018! You add a spark to the entire event that would be sorely missed without you. I sure appreciate all the work you do.

Thank you, Cody. Upvoted and I'm looking forward to seeing you there. Let's plan on sharing some drinks with other around the pool or somewhere there. I look forward to it!

Great! Yet 1 more thing to look forward to. Love you Terry!

Thank you, full-steem-ahead. Can't wait to see you at Anarcapulco 2018.

Cool post except for all the dead animals

Awesome! I've been on the fence about going but this is a very re-assuring post. I gotta make it out some year... perhaps this February!

Hope to see you in Portugal for STEEMFest!

Hmmm... Portugal is on my bucket list, and STEEMFest sounds like a great experience as well! I'll check it out!

Thanks for publishing the beautiful photos. I recently decided to attend for the first time next year and am now officially primed.

Awesome! Be sure to find me and introduce yourself.

I'll be posting more stories from my experiences there too, so watch for those and we can keep the momentum going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56