You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A content development challenge | #anhouraday Day #2

in #anhouraday6 years ago

howdy @wolfhart! i think the post was pretty darn good considering the difficulties. where's the Sunflowers?
hey that bamboo grows great in KS, who knew?
how tall do those things get anyway? dang!

Sort:  

They have to be 10-12 feet . I was going to cut them down a couple years ago and the wife wanted to keep them . Now there out of control .
Sunflowers my wife would have the whole place turned into a sunflower field

lol! I understand about the sunflowers, they thrive in KS though.
You're gonna have to take a machete to those bamboo if you want them gone, I've never seen bamboo growing in KS, I don't think they'd grow in Western KS.

No, you're going to have to dig up ALL the roots and looong runners. Every single one of them. Dig up and burn! The bigger the perimeter of the grove gets, the faster it will spread in all directions and your headache will grow as fast as the bamboo.

I went through that and had nightmares of little green shoots coming up and then being 12 feet tall!

wow @willymac I had no idea but it makes sense, I just didn't think that bamboo would
be a thriving KS plant! Well someone has their work cut out for them, that would be an
interesting post, that job might take days to complete!
thank you willymac for your advice and thank you for your service, I am now following you.

I struggled with a patch like that with Giant Black bamboo. Beautiful and impressive and it doubled in size for each of three years. Then I realized that at that rate, it would be impossible to contain because of the sheer size. NO herbicides for bamboo available! I had to dig the entire 100 foot circular root mass, cut it up, manually sift through the soil to remove all the corms, and burn it. It took two weeks and stopped being funny after a few days.

Had to do another clean up the next summer because new shoots came up everywhere!

oh my gosh I've never heard of anything like this, I didn't even think of bamboo growing anywhere in the U.S.
How did that stuff get planted on your property?
thank you sir, very educational!

Not only does it grow in the US, it grows quite happily!

The Giant Black was purchased by a friend as an ornamental show piece and was planted in her flower garden. It was so impressive in no time at all, "Just imagine how pretty a clump of those would be!" was the next suggestion. Be sure to check and if ANY bamboo is listed as "invasive", find one that is not. They're a real pain!

lol! so interesting and great advice sir, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87