You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meerkats

Those are great captures and congratulations to your post.

Thinking about your subject, it reminded me of the movie, "Life of Pi". I don't know if you were able to watch that movie but allow me to share it with you. In the movie, the protagonist is a survivor of a ship that sunk somewhere in the Pacific and was adrift with a tiger in a lifeboat. In a scene, they were able to land on an island where a numerous mob of meerkats can be found. My first impression of the animals was that they are among the dumbest creature I have ever seen in a movie because they merely moved when Pi and the tiger came near to them. The tiger even ate some of them without signaling danger to the others. I assume that these meerkats must have no sense of threat from them maybe because it is their first time to meet other creatures aside from them. The only threat that they know is when during the time the island became sunken and they go to the branches of the trees. Anyway, I just hope that this is not the case for the meerkats in the wild or else they would be easy prey to some predators.

I am fascinated by how you treat such an animal with value by making them the subject of your photography. It just proves that you gave value to every living creature and every one of them is just as important to the others that are widely known in the ecosystem. Your works are truly commendable.

Keep up the good work man. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment @edencourage.
I know of the existence of this movie, and it's one on my to watch list but it hasn't come to that. In real life meerkats have quite a defense system with always one overseeing the environment from a higher place when the group is out in the open in combination with a series of calls for different types of danger (from the sky or from land for instance). This is what i remember from some nature shows with meerkats in them.
Nice view in this movie on that fear is not something in your genes but that it comes from experiences in life.
Thank you on your view on me about animals, indeed all are needed for an ecosystem (even the spiders :D). I always been a fan of animal photography, find animals such great models with sometimes human like facial expressions, and this has grown since i got a workshop animal photography from my girlfriend. So keep an eye out here, more animal shots will follow here.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92