A day as a Zookeeper

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

When it begins..

Its 5:55am and my alarm has gone off to tell me to "get up or you will be late for work" and now that I have cut my alarm short by 30 minutes giving me extra time in bed, it means every minute is precious and one wrong move and I will be late to work. As soon as I am dressed and ready to go I run downstairs to clean out the bunnies hutch as they are currently living indoors until next spring and then I will either remove Spyros food bowl for a starve day or like today I will put her favourite blend of veggies in for her.

IMG_8413.JPG

IMG_8897.JPG

At 6:30am I leave for my 35 mile trip to the zoo and more than likely I will stop at the petrol station or a store to pick up essential snacks for lunch time break - I love twix's what can I say. I usually arrive at the zoo for about 7:20am and this gives me 10 minutes to just relax and think about the day ahead and try and plan what I want to achieve however, I can plan all I want it is guaranteed something will mess that up- today was no different.

After collecting my radio and keys I head down to my section which is the furthest point in the zoo so it means I walk past a lot of category A animals such as the stunning Amur Leopards who are one of my favourite big cats, the chimps who you can hear shouting and calling knowing keepers are around, then past the Meerkats who run over to the glass to see if you are coming to see them and finally past the African lions who the male usually spends his mornings calling out across the zoo and you can hear it EVERYWHERE and its exceptionally loud as our staff room is right by their exhibit.

IMG_8516.JPG

First part of the day

As soon as I arrive to section I check the animals that are right near the staff room, the rats are currently occupying one of our large indoor aviaries whilst the tortoises have hijacked their exhibit for hibernation preparation. I then do a walk round our Rainbow Lorikeet exhibit and check all my birds are up and alive and looking well which today everyone was fabulous. After collecting all the bowls from the exhibit I then put them to soak because nectar seriously sicks solid to those bowls and then head round to see the Koi-carp fish and sadly today we had lost one of our schbunkins that live alongside them. It is never easy losing an animal, regardless if its a fish or a millipede it still feels the same, almost like you failed them. You sit there and question how they were the night before, could you have done something differently? what if I came in earlier would I have been able to save them? its a helpless feeling. This is something I personally struggle with, I can be a worrier specially when it comes to my animals so for the next 10 minutes I stood and observed them all feeding, swimming, took the temperatures of the pools and waited to make sure everyone was alright. Your probably thinking... they are just fish calm down, no they are my animals and they rely on us for food and water quality so I want to make sure they are all OK.

IMG_3473.JPG

Once I have opened the building and cleaned all my bowls I then need to make the 49 loris breakfast which is 780g of powdered nectar to 4900ml water. Each bird should get 100ml of nectar a day so this is important. Also the food is split into 5 different jugs with 300ml is made into ice cubes for the evening meal. Once mixed and separated its time to feed those hungry ravenous birds and the quicker you do it the less chance your ear drums will burst - THEY ARE SO LOUD. I quickly put the bowls into the back aviary of their exhibit and I blow 3 times on a whistle to signify food is in! One by one they come in to which they are then locked in and counted and checked over before I spend the next 2 hours cleaning the exhibit. Cleaning comes in all forms from washing windows (tiger section have 200 windows to clean twice daily), scrubbing perches, cleaning plants, scrubbing the floor, emptying nest boxes, cleaning wired fences, cleaning the public wash stations, litter picking, putting the fake plants back on the wall they have decided to pull out the wall, sweeping, cleaning the waterfall, cleaning the plastic flaps that cover the doors; there is so much to do and so little time. At 10:15 its break time for 15 minutes and then the exhibit is open to the public being one of our most popular attractions.

IMG_8602.JPG

Heres our baby birds eating together

IMG_6251.JPG

11am

Today we served a two minutes silence in honour of all the men and animals that fought and fell in the war. I always find this emotional having had my grandfather in the navy and although this wasn't his war it still brings a lot of emotion and pride for those brave individuals. Did you know that over 16 million animals were used in the war with nearly 8 million horses/ mules and donkeys losing their lives. Not only did I serve my two minutes for those amazing brave men but also for all those animals.

Lunch time

I am covered on section at around midday by another keeper as we all take turns to be in there, and I get round to cleaning out the rats and given them ample enrichment. I scrubbed the floors and removed all enrichment and then replaced it with a huge comfy dog bed full of blankets, made a hammock with a bed sheet, a den in the corner for them to hide in and a few different sized boxes with more fluffy blankets in for them to snuggle into. Then it was lunch at 1pm the best part of the day to literally eat to your hearts content! As its winter time our lunch is shorter and then it was time for me to do encounters, my first was a talk about our donkeys which i focused on the importance of grooming and picking out their feet. The second encounter was a talk about our giant tortoises which was super busy with at least 20 + families crammed in to hear me speak.. It is so nerve wrecking and I panic every time but I get the job done and my talks now last about 8 minutes rather than 3 when I used to skip as much as I could haha.

IMG_2964.JPG

Time to close..

Shutting the section down is super crazy as we have many different areas to close and tonight I was in our "outback" area which had all the public walk-throughs with the goats and the wallabies and the windows to clean lucky we only have 15 to do, we have to give all our animals an evening feed and check they are all well before we go home. It takes about 5 of us to close the outback part so we all have our own jobs to do mine was feeding wallabies, sheep and goats (nightmare), clean the stable where the donkeys were, and clean all the public areas. Then I had to walk round and check the juniors staff work to ensure I was happy with it, tonight was a good night all the animals were fine and healthy before bed so we were about to leave on time before we were asked to rush up to the reindeer field as we had to get them fed so it meant we left late again tonight but oh well I got to see one of my favourites... Ronnie!

IMG_0224.JPG

So there is an insight to my day I hope you enjoyed it! Tomorrow I am going to write about the highlights of my day i'll pick an animal I work with and do a profile on them as well as the super cool facts about that species and what you can do to help them if you wanted!

Species for Sunday will be - Reindeer

Don't forget to follow me and if you could be so kind and upvote if you enjoyed reading!

Thank you!

Sort:  

its gorgeous......what its called?

Hi,@amavi Welcome to steemit. Looks Like Amazing This Post Happy To Have Fun a Day ( ^,^ ).

Thank you! Don't forget to vote if you enjoyed it :)

Wow - what an incredible job, you're so lucky! Beautiful photos by the way :)

Oh thank you! I am glad you enjoyed my post. I am very lucky to be able to take photos of the beautiful animals in my life and I am so pleased I can share them with you all! :D

Although I don't envy a wake up time pre-6am though. Ouch!

It’s certainly painful!! Specially when I forget to go to bed before 10 so I can get 8 hours...! Like tonight whoops!!

Worth it to have a reindeer that close to your face though right? :)
Looking foward to reading more soon!

This is great!! As I previously mentioned, my son and I go to our local Hogle Zoo in Salt Lake City every Saturday, so this is fascinating behind the scenes stuff. Of the animals in your care, who is the most difficult to feed?

It took me all my drive to think of an animal to answer your question. I guess for our animals the most difficult can be the royal python snakes who sometimes don’t want to eat and can go weeks without feeding. That can be frustrating. In terms of danger of feeding would be Santa’s reindeer. I will explain more in my post later about them but they are very dangerous animals and we work in twos with them! Always got to keep an eye on what they are doing otherwise you can end up in a lot of trouble! I will have to check Hogle Zoo out!

Yep. Get it with the reindeer. We have Elk migrating across our property and they are beautiful, but can be very dangerous in regards to our dogs. Thanks for the update.

hi @amavi! wow thank you so much for sharing with us the daily activities of a zookeeper. nice read! those birds look cute eating together hehe.. and i just wanna say thank you for taking good care of all those animals.. keep it up! :)

Oh thank you :)! I wanted people to be able to read a small insight to our day! Sometimes it can be hectic and everything goes wrong and other days it can be normal!

Hey Amavi ! :)
Love your posts.
I just uploaded a post with some pictures I took in a Zoo in my city , would love you to check the post out :)

have a great day and say hey to all the animals for me :)

I will do for sure!! Thank you!

Great stuff! Looks like a lot of fun being a zookeeper - and a lot of work too. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, I have just finished my latest post :D

What a great view of the behind the scenes care of these amazing animals. So much goes into not just keeping them healthy and comfortable, but to providing a positive experience to the patrons who come to learn and view. I doubt people put a lot of thought into how intensive it is to keep a living menagerie going. They are so blessed to have you and your colleagues to care for them.

Hi amavi! Your blog is amazing, and those pics -- awww. Please keep posting! %)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73