MINNOW TRAP BUILD - ATTEMPT 1

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

Can I catch them?


Down on the border of the property owned by @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood there is a stream. In that stream are all sorts of minnows and small fish. In this video, I decided to build a minnow trap in an attempt to catch some of them. Can I do it? Will it work?

PAPA vs. THE MINNOWS - Round 1

THE RESULTS

After constructing a cylindrical trap out of 1/2 inch hardware cloth, I headed down to the creek to give it a go. I realized that this hardware cloth was too big to capture the little minnows, but I hoped that I would still be able to capture some of the larger chubs.

After leaving it overnight, I came back down to check it. Although I did catch one big chub, that majority of the fish were not any kind of minnow at all. Besides a couple of Crayfish, the trap had also collected about a dozen Green Sunfish. While it may not have worked like I hoped, it still worked... but I'll be back soon to try again!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-minnow

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Hi @papa-pepper,

I used minnows to feed my jaguar cichlid it was the only fish I could breed that he would eat at the time.
I used a clear plastic bottle cut the top off and turned it around on it's self, glued it back on to make a one way system and I caught loads.

minnow trap.jpg

I like your idea of using mesh, I would have tried to use a netting type of material that might not be as big for the minnows not to get out.

Nothing like a nice hot day to go fishing

Steem on brother :D

Oh yeah! I've used three liter plastic bottles before here, and they worked great!

I found the 2 liter ones were good for catching small catfish and the 3 liter ones were cool for the minnows, I wounder if there is away to convert a large food container into something like that, you might catch something bigger :D

Are you catching them to eat ? Cheers mike

I have before! The minnows I catch will be for a secret project though.

Hmm intriguing, have you dug your own pond? Cheers mike

Not yet... but perhaps before year end.

After seeing some of your posts I would imagine it would make a series of very interesting videos from the marking out too the dig etc etc, I’ll look forward to the design stage and your thoughts on location and size and what you hope to attract. Thanks mike

It still perplexes me, how an avid animal lover can intentionally kill innocent animals! Humans are using all their intelligence to make a trap for their other co-habitats of this planet!!!

"Innocent animals?" - Animals are like trees, they are only "innocent" because they lack the ability to be wretched, evil, greedy, proud, selfish souls like the rest of us. If they were capable of it, they'd be guilty just like the rest of us.

fishing equipment that you use is the same as us in aceh, if in aceh its name is bube, made of rattan or small bamboo.

this is a good way my pal, but here we are catching fish with nets, it's nicer and a lot more.

I'm surprised you had no bait to attract them and they still went in! Great way to get free bait for fishing. I saw a video where someone was using just stale bread for bait in a minnow trap. It might be worth a try to get more in there.

We have caught hundreds in little traps. watch out for copperheads! They like to swim in for a bite!

I'll be careful!

Fishing will be hard work

@papa-pepper I know you will perfect your Trap. Once you do you will be the King of the Stream !

Good job on the trap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76