You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Final Conflict - Concept of My Dream Game

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)

I'm loving it! I can offer to help with dialogue scripts or copyediting and voice acting!

Some thoughts, from someone who loves all of the genres implicated here:

  1. Always consider balance. The reason that Alliance or Horde can never win is that it would not be fun for other people. Unfortunately that takes away the fun of actually having a strategy to 'win the war'.
    There must always be something to do, but players must feel like what they do does something, if that makes sense.

  2. Calcification can become the enemy of new adoption. Online game ogame is a lot of strategic fun with real importance, but new players are at a mathematical disadvantage always, and so the game managers create new servers every once and a while so that a new universe can 'start fresh'.

  3. Where grand strategy meets on the ground, real time action is where the magic happens. This is even true with actual military matters, consider the US in a conflict like Vietnam. Uncontrollable variables, disasters, morale, gumption, tenacity; these unpredictable or unquantifiable aspect of life serve to make every decision matter, from top to bottom.

I have no idea how to implement all the stuff I just said, but love to consider it! Cheers, and keep us appraised! Steem on!

Sort:  

Your offer is noted, thanks. Honestly, I have no Idea how to start development on something like this, but am reaching out to a few people who do. So we shall see where that goes.

  1. I invision winning to be possible but very difficult, requiring consistent, high quality player action. That said, I do not know (yet) what would happen after. Maybe a new map, or an additional faction. I am open to suggestions.
  2. Calcification, I see your point. Although in the chain-of-command structure for this "game" I think it may work well. New and old players will have to all work together. Squads/Platoons/Divisions will be made up of many different ranks of players, all with the same objectives. Older, higher ranked players progress further by effectively guiding the newbies in their charge.
  3. Agreed, I didn't mention it in the article but I am toying with some ideas to create chaos, I do not want players ever to feel safe.

I love the idea, I really do - and what I love too is the idea of collaboratively building a 'dream game'.

Thank you for thinking about and responding to my comment so thoughtfully!

Some follow ons -

  1. Maybe winning happens locally instead of globally. This is a point that will require a lot of thought, especially since most new players tend to join the 'winning team', look at the gym fiasco with pokemon go, the winning gym is the winning gym, and new players also join that one, creating a 'pile-on' problem. I think its lightning faction but I don't remember right now.

  2. Just be sure to avoid the problem with ponzi schemes. I think AI can make up for that, but you shouldn't 'need' a constant and growing stream of new player to be successful, since it eventually becomes a mathematical impossibility.

  3. Perfect!

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87