London | City Series | Graphic Design by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__London_large.jpg

Mixing things up yet again, I wanted to share some of my graphic design work. Digital paintings are my true passion, but I worked in the commercial design field earlier in my career and still do freelance work when I have the time. Graduating with a bachelor of fine arts in graphic design, I have worked on multiple projects for large agencies, car dealerships, and national brands. However, I got burned out very fast in this corporate environment and stepped away from design to pursue my fine art career in 2009.

This is my city series and the goal was to highlight some of the most infamous cities around the world. On a personal level, all of these cities are ones that I hope to visit one day and this project allowed me to get to know these cities before ever traveling to them. I chose a specific landmark or something of importance for each city that represented the history, culture, or other relevant symbolism. Furthermore incorporating the correlating country flag in the background. I will be sharing many of these in the future but first up, London!

London is the capital and most populous city of both England and the United Kingdom. Standing on the River Thames in the south east of the island of Great Britain, London has been a major settlement for two millennia. It was founded by the Romans, who named it Londinium. London's ancient core, the City of London, largely retains its 1.12-square-mile (2.9 km2) medieval boundaries. Since at least the 19th century, "London" has also referred to the metropolis around this core, historically split between Middlesex, Essex, Surrey, Kent and Hertfordshire, which today largely makes up Greater London, a region governed by the Mayor of London and the London Assembly. London contains four World Heritage Sites: the Tower of London; Kew Gardens; the site comprising the Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey, and St Margaret's Church; and the historic settlement of Greenwich (in which the Royal Observatory, Greenwich defines the Prime Meridian. Other landmarks include Buckingham Palace, the London Eye, Piccadilly Circus, St Paul's Cathedral, Tower Bridge, Trafalgar Square, The Shard and the iconic red phone booths throughout the city. London is home to numerous museums, galleries, libraries, sporting events and other cultural institutions, including the British Museum, National Gallery, Natural History Museum, Tate Modern, British Library and West End theatres. The London Underground is the oldest underground railway network in the world.

posters_display.jpg

posters_close-up_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider are–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As my account grows, it is becoming more difficult to reply to every comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will do my best to respond. I can guarantee I at least read every comment given. I am dedicated to spending a full-time effort on this platform. Everything posted on my profile (@abrockman) is 100% original content and exclusively shared on steemit. Any reproduction of my work without written consent is strictly prohibited. Please remember the best way to grow our community is by producing outstanding original content of your own to share with all of us.

Sort:  

@abrockman, it's a small world with not many brockmans in it. Just curious as to what your first name is. And what part of the state's you are from. My son's name is August and goes by AJ for short.

Wow, crazy! Nice to meet you Ray. Indeed, I have yet to know any other Brockman that I am not related to. I am from South Florida, Brockman is from my dad's side and he grew up in Miami. We have other family in Fall River Massachusetts. Our ancestry is Russian from what I am told. Interested to hear back from you, please find me on Facebook through the link on my steemit homepage. I have given you a follow as well.

I haven't been on Facebook since I joined steemit. I would love to chat in steemit chat or discord. My father's family is from Germany. Very interesting. When they came to the state's the lived in Texas small town called Plainview. Thanks for responding to me.

I hope steemit will have a direct chat section here.. :-)

Yes, it would be great to Chat further, I am on discord. I am AJ Brockman#8665

This comment has received a 0.02 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @tomy12.

Its nice to see more talented people joining steemit, keep up the good work!

Thank you very much! Honored to be involved.

👏👏👍

Whoa great work, you pwn the halftone!

LOL… Thank you! Yes, I am a big fan of the halftone.

I am a designer I have only two years of experience but in this short time I have realized that at the end of things there are many difficult customers, but ... THE MOST DIFFICULT DESIGN is the one we make for ourselves. I also made a 100x80 picture and I had fun placing everything I like, greetings.
Soy diseñadora tengo apenas dos años de experiencia pero en este corto tiempo me he dado cuenta que al final de las cosas hay muchos clientes dificiles, pero...... EL DISEÑO MAS DIFICIL es el que realizamos para nosotros mismos. yo tambien realice un cuadro de 100x80 y me diverti colocando todo lo que me gusta, saludos.

Very well said, I completely agree. However, even though we can be most critical of ourselves, the best work we can produce is when our hearts are truly in it. Thank you for your comment!

Eso es correcto. Saludos !!

Wow,.i am amazed did you actually design this things by your self. Thumbs 👆 nice work

Yes, of course! Thank you for your kind words.

For the first time im seeing your graphics design, really mind blowing as you do in digital panting. You have both of super power!
I don't missed any of your post after joining the steem world.
Thanks for sharing sir @abrockman.
Keep it up..

Thank you for your continued support! Your comments are very encouraging and I really appreciate it. Much more coming my friend! All the best.

@abrockman - awesome post and artwork. Very original and wonderful. You have loads of talent. I wish that I was more creative- although I am more an admirer of good artwork than one with talent. You have a gift. Upvoted!!

Thank you for always encouraging me and your great comments. My talent comes from hard work and dedication. I am glad you enjoy what I share. Look forward to hearing from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99