Sweet Dreams. Pen drawing

in #art6 years ago

I was recently invited to participate in a group art show in Chicago at a place called All Star Press. I put in 2 older pieces, but did this piece "Sweet Dreams" specifically for the show.

Sweet Draems_small.jpg

I wanted to create a surreal strange piece that would suck the viewer in. This piece is 11x14"

Sweet Dreams_detail1.jpg

Sweet Dreams_Detail2.jpg

Sweet Dreams_detail3.jpg

Sweet Dreams_detail4.jpg

Some detail shots of this clusterfuck.

I believe the piece was a hit. During the show the gallery owner mentioned having a solo show for me next year some time. I hope that happens.

20180906_233352.jpg

20180908_181514.jpg

20180912_234548.jpg

20180913_003117.jpg

Some progress pictures. 1 thing to note is that in the last progress picture, I had filled the page with pen. For some reason though I went back and made the bottom 2 corners darker to give it a little more form.

Thanks for checking out my piece.
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

@achristopherart Where you get the inspiration to start every piece of your work? In your first image, I actually thought it was an eye with a human feature in the middle. But look at your second image, wow, it was a mouth with tree root. Third image, wow and wow it more like an image deep down in the dark world. If your intention of created this art is to attracted viewer, you get it. It really attracted my attention and it strange if you get a closer look at the art. Your hardwork on this art has pay off. Congratulations and all the best on your solo show next time.

Wow sweet dream indeed. It is pretty interesting that you made the viewer focused on a small circular hole with only a mouth piece in the center.    
                     
I like the insane amount of details that you drew all around the centerpiece. This artwork must look really awesome in real.      
                       
Congratulations for another curie vote :).      
                       

Thank you. that's exactly why I did this piece in a way where getting up close is the most ideal. Since I don't get to show my work to the public that often, I wanted something that brought the viewers nose up close to the drawing.

Unbelievable details! Rich in details and beautiful composition :)

This is so detailed and amazing..😍

Posted using Partiko Android

This doesn't look like sweet dreams, it looks like nightmares. Lol! But I do like all the creepy stuff going on there, it is pretty detailed, it must have taken you a while to get this done. It is a really interesting piece!

Yes Yes. I guess it's more like craving to have sweet dreams. I think it was around 20 hours of pen work.

Yeah, it should be the cravings... Lol! 20hrs is a ton of time, wow! But, the result definitely is worth it...

@achristopherart if you wanted to do those pieces the good thing is that they took one for all of next year one of your pieces for the exhibition is nice to see that everything can be done and not lose hope and if it took you hours doing all those pieces thank you for making those pieces with your heart as you enjoy every detail of each piece @neymarth10 a lot of support from here VEnezuela

It's a good thing you've been chosen for the next exhibition. You managed to suck us off to see step by step the whole process of your great work of art. Consistency yields these great results. Congratulations on your great work every day to achieve success. A big greeting.

How could this be a drawing for sweet dreams? It looks scary! 😂

Kidding aside, is there any story to this tbat your "sweet" has turn to this?

I just have a really horrible time falling asleep, I always hope for sweet dreams but it never happens. "Irony" I guess.

Irony is sometimes a way to achieve what we want or need. As the saying goes, "fake it until you make it."

This is more than amazing really, I love the idea of the surrealism it's a bit gory and frightening, looks like what one should be afraid of,i don't know if it's pencil or coal but it definitely looks more like sketches really. I love the tiny bit of details in the drawing the tiny dots and the idea is very creative, this is scary but beautiful

This was done entirely in pen. Thanks for the kind words.

Wow pen? Of course you're welcome

This is so well done the details are impressive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77