BEASTLY TALES - THE DINNER PARTY

in #art5 years ago

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE DINNER PARTY

Sally Bunnett was the lovely wife,
Deliberately caused her husband strife.
“I’m having a dinner party quite soon, my dear,”
“My, but you now do look so very queer,”
“Only about thirty people or so,”
“Some you may already know.”
“Others not, but you can introduce yourself there,”
“During the welcoming speech you prepare,”
“Yes, make new friends, show that you care,”
“Don’t leave everybody up in the air.”

Larry Bunnett gasped, jaw open slack,
He did not like the sound of this tack.
“My dear this just isn’t you.”
“I can’t believe, this, you would pursue!”
“Such a prospect is more than I can take,”
“Please reassure that such a notion is fake!”

“Larry, my dear, the idea of this dinner,”
“Encapsulates all that I do love, a real winner,”
“You’ll thoroughly enjoy it on the night,”
“Now, come, come, you look a fright,”
“I thought that you could act very jokey,”
“And then phase it in to a night of Karaoke.”
“We’ll add a further dimension too,”
“Make it Fancy Dress, especially for you!”
Larry said, “My Dear, you’ve lost the plot,”
“This idea of yours, like it, I do not.”
So, with a withering stare,
Sally left, no longer there.

Larry was left, jaw agape, far from O.K.
Later that day she came back to say,
“If it’s cooking that worries, we’ll call a catering firm”
“There are so many good ones, an idea in a germ.”
“They also, at an added cost, provide staff,”
“To enable guests to be free to laugh,”
“And be quite merry, yes, that’s fine,”
“For they’ll also provide high quality wine.”

Now Sally thought that enough was enough,
She let Larry down gently, and all that stuff.
“I sure had you going, just for a while,”
Larry responded with a most relieved smile.
“That ghastly idea of yours,”
“To fill our house with consummate bores,”
“It sure scared the pants off me,”
“I nearly brought up my lovely tea.”
“Let’s not do such a frightful thing again,”
“Such a notion is undoubtedly bad for the brain!”

dinner party.png

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @beastlybanter
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Very funny! I'm with Larry on this one, it sounds aweful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71