Wrecked ! Fallen painting, repairs, and a comic strip in bonus :)

in #art5 years ago (edited)


 

Nice way to start a week, don't you think ? :D


How did it start ?

I was quietly working on my current baby, trying to handle the thing while painting its frame, when suddenly I realized I was trapped !

Nowhere to place it and let it dry safely : all space around me was invaded by ongoing work !

Drawings, paintings, sketches... Me and my fresh new little painting were surrounded by old and patient projects, staring at us, silently reminding that promise once made to finish them... One day.

_OK, did I think

_Let's take a breath...

_No panic.

_Let's drop our fresh painted thing by here, and let's think of a way to free up some space...

Drawings, paintings... on tables, on a radiator, on the ground...

_Hmm... Not too many on the walls...

_What about hanging some of these unfinished pieces ?

You get it... That's how it started, that's how it ended too.


 

New plan : let's repair the broken victim, and make it less breakable, and... more complete, too !


I've been lucky no real damage was done. The drawing has been done on fiberboard panels, and have been temporarily assembled with wooden strip glued on their back. Only that placeholder used as a structure broke up.

I've already posted this piece's work in progress a few months ago, and here are some details the latest stages :



A bit of reinforcement with Gesso in the weakest areas, where the back cardboard might bend, and filling unaesthetic gaps between panels.

Of course, I'll have to draw again these parts :)
 
Next step will be the building of a frame, out of wooden strips, that will protect the sides.
That will be my week's trial... Never done that kind of work on so weird shape, so, I bet on many fails and lots of learning ;)

On a side note : I'm pretty happy that "accident" happened : without this, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have tried myself at making a comics strip. Unusual exercise for me, but fun :D

Anyways : that's all for today !

Thanks all for reading :)

Have fun, take care, and don't rely on traitor nails !

 

Berien


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/wrecked/

Sort:  

It's so great that you are trying out comics :D It expresses an event very communicatively, dont you think :D :D :D

The accident looks like it was very heart-stopping though ! I would have been screaming XD

Good luck with the new framing, @berien :)

Thanks Liske :)

Honnestly, I think I deeply knew before the crash that would end like that...

When I hung it, I was asking myself more about how long it would last before falling rather than if it would stand... I was expecting that it'd let me a few minutes so I could make something sturdier...

Wrong timescale : it lasted only a few seconds :p

I'll think of a way to insert short comic strips like that instead of long blocks of texts. I'm really not at ease with that kind of drawings, but we'll see if pleasure comes with practice :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

What an accident! But you managed to go over it and finish :) I think I would get crazy :D

Thanks @delishtreats :)
It's not completely finished yet, but that seems to go easier than I'd think :)

Hahaha, that´s so cool to see you exploring this totally different kind of style. The expressions in your(?) face are so great. And it´s great again to see the artwork again, wonder what its future will be...

Thanks, @patschwork, it was fun to make :)

I usually prefer words, but this time I couldn't find an interesting and funny way to explain the situation with them... It was either too long and boring to read, or too short and didn't transmit the idea I wanted to share :)

The character was intended to represent myself, without seeking resemblance.
I had to find some elements that would make people who know me have no doubt about who was this guy : that's a great exercice too :)

Finally, about the main artwork. I guess its future is to be framed and put on a wall. I'll focus on this kind of work this year. If I have to participate into an exhibition (another unknown territory for me), that's the content I'd want to present.

Have a nice day :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thanks for the support :)

Ahhh you are such a positive person <3. That's very lovely to see, the fact that despite your accident, you managed to see it in a good way, and of course I am happy too that you made a comic out of it ^^.
                     
I like your comic, it's very expressive, you should consider making more of them =).

Thanks @scrawly :D
I haven't always been like that... I highly prefer that vision of the world instead of the negative one I used to see in the past :D

We'll see about more comic strips : this time, it has been a spontaneous and flawless work guided by the event, but usually it's a pain for me to work on this kind stuff.

I'll probably try again, with the hope that the feeling will be the same than this one :)

Thanks again, and have a nice day :)

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15