How to draw a bear as a flat wood carvingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

This is the first time I tried to draw a flat wood carving. I knew the basics of drawing that's all. I liked how it come out, simple.
There are basically two layers, bear and the background. You can draw those layers separately, but you have to make sure to connect them by shadows and color variations. Make sure to choose light source direction, that one is probably most important one.

Chapter_30_b.jpg

Sort:  

The mysteries of digital art!!! Thanks for sharing!

Everything going digital, even art. I'm for it though, gives artists different mediums to try with out too much investments.

I'm not criticising. I'm an analogue artiste normally but I like to meddle with things on photoshop when I need something digital...working with a mouse it's always clunky - well, as are my PS skills!!

Agree, but with i-pad and i-pencil you are working almost like on paper with pencil, no mouse.

Cool, I was imagining something more swanky. I must try it some time!

wow, that is really cool and a good idea, what gave you the inspiration to do a bear drawing carving? might have to try doing something like that my self. good work my friend. love it :)

Thanks @artonmysleeve , this is an illustration for a children's book I did for a friend of mine.

That is really cool. what is the name of the book? i wouldn't mind having a read of it. is it out yet?

I have given you an upvote, and i am following because i would like to see more of stuff like this.

Book is not out yet, and it's been published in Ukraine. Shortly, when I reach 200 followers I will release one of my children's e-books for free, as a thank you. Keep an eye out for it, should be soon. And that would be for 24 hours only. Otherwise, I have 2 books on Amazon right now, and quite a few in the works. Just look up Max Shumsky. How about you, you draw too?

I do draw too, it is one of the main reasons i came on to steemit to show my work, i have been doing freelance work for about 3 years and before that that i worked for a printing company drawing images for mugs t-shirts hats and things like that. it was good while the gig lasted but they went bust back in 2014. so i had to start looking for work, but when you start out again you have to start from scratch and i couldn't show my work in my portfolio because of the contract i was under stated that the images belonged to them. And the good thing about steemit i think it might (finger crossed) bring some work my way one day. i have also written a book, it's with a copywriter at the minute, I'm wanting it to be published before x-mas. just had a look on amazon and they look like good books mate. is that you with your kid in the profile picture on amazon?

Yes, my youngest one.
Are you going through any particular publisher? I just went self publishing, liked it a lot. Only thing amazon does not advertise for you, but everything else they do excellent!

Have you thought about working digitally? Like on the i-pad in procreate?

I do use a digital tablet that is hooked up to my laptop for my digital art but I have only had it about 2 months and still getting used to it. I use paint.net as I like working in layers too. I have never heard of procreate before until the other day I was talking to another artist and he said that is what he uses, and he had done this whale with it. it looked really cool. I am going to publish through Amazon too when it's ready I have an account with them had it for a while now just never had the confidence to do anything like this before.

what do you prefer hand drawing or digital? i am a bit old school to be honest, i enjoy the feel of the pencil in my hand and the smell of the paper. it makes me feel like a kid again.

GREAT work! Keep at it! If you have any questions about the art contest, you may leave your message on my post about it. ❤️

Thank you Sharon! I never turn down help or guidance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59