Tailoring and Sewing a Blouse From a Pattern

in #art6 years ago

20180916_160421~2.jpg

I like to think of sewing patterns as mini-modules. I look for patterns that can teach me new techniques for achieving the effects I want. For example, I usually have to do some alterations to accommodate my full bust. McCalls M6399 to the rescue!

20180910_183500.jpg

This pattern comes with full tailoring directions for all types of figures! As you can see, I altered mine by adding fullness in the front.

20180906_194115.jpg

Above, I demonstrate how to make tailor's thread markings for the precision pleating involved in making this blouse. Large stitches using contrasting thread are sewn through the pattern, and are then used to match up the folds.

20180907_112551.jpg

Once marked, I basted the pleats, then machine stitched them in place. This top has 24 pleats in all!

20180907_194738.jpg

Taking plenty of time and care to prepare the pieces of the garment ensures that tricky pleats will still line up and drape exactly the way you want them to.

20180910_182337~2.jpg

Never content to churn out a basic garment, I searched my fabric stash and retrieved this bit of 1999 "Shiva" artist's cotton to use for an applique, as well as for the facings.

20180907_204901.jpg

I applied the elephant print by hand using silk thread and embroidery stitches.

20180910_182157~2.jpg

I love this style of top, and this one is the third iteration I have made using this pattern!

20180910_182059~2.jpg

Here's how it looks on me from the back:

20180916_160637~2.jpg

Just for fun, here is the first top I made using McCalls M6399:

11924568_10207115846875469_7552360538194885258_n.jpg

And here is a longsleeved version:

12841354_10208380687655698_1562263002438338922_o.jpg

I wonder what the next top from this pattern will look like? It is so much fun to make, even if it does require so much fuss with all the pleating.

Cheers!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

My gallery of creations is on fb:

https://www.facebook.com/FeraL-Clothing-162395904652/

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Very cool, thank you!

You and your wonderful blouses are so beautiful!
What a cool pattern and awesome material on the
first photos! Now what would this look like with the
white fur and spacey material the jacket had? :-)
❤ 🐱

Aw, thank you @shasta! Hehe I am imagining pleating fantasy fur, and weeping at the same time! I do think it would be funky fresh done in that galaxy print, though. I wonder if the remnants are large enough...maybe just for a tank top ;)
Much love!

What a beautiful blouse! Isn't it amazing how many different looking garments you can do with one good pattern and a bit of imagination?

I love the fabric - especially close up you can see how many color there are in it. Was it hard to sew with it? It looks like it might be a bit slippery.

Thanks! I do appreciate a quality pattern that I don't get bored working on again and again. This one is particularly versatile, having a zipper option for nonstretch as well as all the tailoring info.

I'm glad you like this orangey pinky fabric! I bought it years ago from the discount table and made some raver wear with it. It is surprisingly easy to work with, once I zigzagged all the edges. I realized after I cut it that the stretch goes lengthwise, and technically I should have cut it with horizontal stripes. But I prefer my stripes vertical . Breaking all the rulez hehe!

Cheers and thanks for your comment!

THis shirt (and espacially the applique) is beuatiful and suits you so well. And your explanation is also very clear.... but for me so intimidating :-DDD My sewing skills are strained to the max by making a circle skirt with elastic :-D Such a tailored blouse as yours has to wait for me getting muuuuch better in sewing.

Thank you very much!
I agree, I couldn't design this pattern myself. So having a well written commercial pattern teaches me a lot, like a home study course :)

Awesome work! Congrats on the #SoCalSteemit Spotlight.

Thanks! And likewise! :)

Hello @creationofcare!! Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! It’s so good to have you! Every Monday we get together to share our work, ideas, patterns, tips, shortcuts and to inspire each other! Anyone that does a craft involving a needle is welcome! Thank you for sharing the process of your work as we love seeing a project come to life. No need to wait for a project to be fully complete to post!

Your blouse is so pretty! The material and color looks great on you! I love the appliqué and color that you added to it. The first blouse you made is also very pretty! I think it’s great that we can alter clothing to our liking.

I hope that you will find the time to mingle around with the other needleworkers and see their work. We encourage support and interaction within the community. Let’s work together to keep these wonderful needle arts alive!

Looking forward to seeing more of your work! 😊

For the guidelines and to learn more about what we do please visit our Introduction Post!

Also please check out our Upcycle Challenge!

Congratulations @creationofcare! Your post has been placed in the spotlight and chosen for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!

92A67BB0-4A4F-4053-86CF-81D86B0B8EE5.png

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27