Don’t go chasing waterfalls

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, welcome to my art circle!

IMG_20190228_124933.jpg
This is a painting inspired by this video which I repeated over and over for my Tuesday class: Painting and Drawing.

Ekaterina’s voice grew on us and we marveled at her cameleon accent saying A la prima with an Italian accent and something else sounded very British.

IMG_20190228_125311.jpg
I had brought this sketch over but the painting had yet to be painted. Can you spot the hair? honestly I wish I thought of drawing that line myself.

IMG_20190226_203915.jpgIMG_20190226_202822.jpgIMG_20190226_202908.jpg
My students struggled with this painting but ultimately prevailed. In this last one, that paper is clearly overworked. However, working from a simple color palette served them well. Sap green, ultramarine blue and burned sienna is all you really need.

A La Prima (which as I learned means with my cousin in Spanish) is Italian for: in one sitting. This effortless style means that nothing should be overworked and the art should convey a sense of serenity. I think they all achieved this in some respects and as always I am very proud.

In the second one, the reflection of the cliff had a really hard line which I helped to lift. I was grateful that this artist was working on amazingly resilient paper.

The fibre was high quality but it is the glue in the paper that helped the most with my intervention.

Watercolour has a lot in common with signing. Just like the muscles of the throat you must learn to relax, you need a loose attitude with your brush. The irony is that it is easy to clean and very portable but just as difficult to learn as any other medium. If you have the means to treat a 10$ paper casually, you do have an advantage, especially when it comes to perfecting dry brush and scumbling, which I hope to cover in an upcoming post.

Personally, I use Strathmore 11X14 paper that comes to about 2.75 CAD. By telling myself that it is less than a beer, I can be looser and more experimental with my work, focussing more on the fun than the result.

IMG_20190226_202834.jpg
I painted this during class after we all watched another video. I did not consult it in the process and in retrospect, I should have left more of the white of the paper to break up the rocks. It is an outstanding memory exercise to only watch a tutorial once and fill in the gaps with improvisation, it truly helps make the ideas your own.

It was fun to study dry brush technique. With fast strokes and making sure my brush was not too wet, I could showcase the grain of the paper as you can see in the texturized areas.

Join Steemit Dreamit on Discord!
898CF732-5757-4102-8667-BD3A9997FAD1.jpeg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Really wonderful pieces, all of them, I am also learning how to paint with watercolours and I can see that there are tips and universal lessons with composition and colour balance that extend across most students of watercolour paintings... :D

I also have been failing at leaving some parts untouched, myself hahahaha

Very nice post, @edouard :)

I think you are the sweetest. Sometimes I feel like a second generation painter because the artists who I learn from use photo references where as I take the universal tips that they learned from doing this and create.

Much happiness to you dear friend.

beautiful watercolor @edouard and the sketch too....I did find the hair and it's a lovely curve '-))

Hello @edouard, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73