You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sketchbook Reflections

in #art6 years ago

Yay - I'm so relieved that I'm not the only one who ends up with about 10 pages to go in a sketchbook where I'm just desperate for the fresh start of a new one, and get the strange idea that I'll be about 10 times better when I do it! Most of my sketchbooks are blank towards the end, or just have a few scrappy notes.

I love your comic style- I'm in awe of the way you seem to be able to lay down a loose idea of a character in pencil and then ink it in with such precision and bring it instantly to life. Have you ever done a "how-to" post for this kind of work? I'd love to learn!

One last question, I promise! In the colour piece that you say you were inspired by the style of Sibylline M, what is it that you used for the lovely blue outline? I've seen this colour used before by various illustrators, and have always admired it!

Fabulous post - looking forward to following more of your work. E x

Sort:  

Right? That's the best part about Steemit, you find so many people who can relate to you XD

Thank you so much, it means a lot to me. I've done a lot of posts in the past where I try to impart some of the knowledge I've learned at art college. You can just scroll back about three months through my olders posts and you'll find a bunch. Here is one for example; Roasting Myself | Comic Tips for Newbies or Inking Techniques.

That was actually done with a simple blue pen, pilot razor point. It's just something I had laying around because my normal inking markers, which are black, looked too harsh with the posca markers.

Thanks so much for reading and for your feedback!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80