You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Latest Digital Painting - Natasha Akasha

in #art6 years ago

I never was much for putting in some elaborate meaning myself. I wonder how many artists and writers actually have some crazy complex meaning behind their art and how often it's just people trying to read too much into the beautiful creation of another mind.

Sort:  

Good point, I guess it's safe to say that there's z mixed variety bag of characters on both side of the fence. You can certainly find wannabe art critics who love to hear themselves talk and interpret all kind of nonsense into a piece of art, just to sound interesting. Then there are wannabe artists trying to distract from their lack of talent with an over ambitious narrative.
But for the most part I believe that creating art is meaningful just alone through the fact that the people creating it put their hearts and souls into it. This is what art represents, and I'm not only referring to art art. If someone is a plumber and puts a lot of attention and love towards detail, giving it his best, he creates a work of art. I think it is intrinsic to human nature to create something that's meaningful, but greed has corrupted our values causing us to be sloppy.
Shit, that answer was a lot longer than I intended it to be, but there you go, a sloppy answer would not be art.

Well, I dunno about plumbing necessarily being art. We put bits of ourselves in everything we create but I don't know that it's necessarily art just because we created it. I suppose it depends on what your definition of art is. Maybe designing the plumbing for a city might be art. I think what makes it art is putting in a unique expression of your self. When you weld a pipe, every small movement to make the weld might be unique to you, but it's only art when the combined expression is something more. There are certainly plenty of art sculptures made from welding pipes together.

You're absolutely right. With the energy and intention we put into our work we make it either art or not. Art is more of an attitude in my opinion. I came to that conclusion when I talked to a guy from Senegal years ago. He said in his country there was not even a word for art. I was pretty perplexed by that but then it started to make total sense. It's all about how much of our uniqueness we are willing to to pour into what we do. And that goes for what we perceive as 'real art' as well. If a so called artist just spits some paint on a canvas, without any emotion or deeper meaning most people will pick up on that. The universe is made solely of energy and every piece of matter that manifests carries the energetic footprint of the soul that created that matter. So the energy you put into something is responsible for the outcome, nothing else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75