Barn Swallow Watercolor Scientific Illustration (with Time Lape Video)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Meet My Neighbors!


9EF40D81-7FDE-4EFA-B7F8-37BDF128BBC4.jpeg

The Barn Swallow got its name because it builds its nest almost exclusively on man-made structures. I can attest to this fact as there are families of them that annually build nests on our apartment buildings breezeway. There was only one nest this year, but I still enjoyed watching the chicks grow and eventually strike out on their own. The three babies from this year left last week and, as if this weekend, have stopped returning at night.

Animal mythology stories are fascinating to me. I think they show creative problem solving in early cultures. In the case of the Swallow, early people claimed that it stole fire from the gods to bring to the human race. This angered the gods, so they hurled a fireball at the Swallow, hitting its tail. This is the explanation for their forked tails. Pretty cool, right? Stories like that fill my head with illustration ideas.

For this painting, I used watercolor paper, graphite pencils, Copic brush pen and markers, and some generic watercolor/gouache paints. I’m generally pretty uncomfortable with these kinds of paints. During a scientific illustration assignment in college, however, I found they worked really well. Since I was going for that kind of style here, it was a natural decision.

Well, that’s it for now. Let me know what animals you want to see me draw or paint next and I may give it a shot. Thanks a bunch!

Until next time!

Disclaimer: Edits were made to increase readability. Please see comments for original text and all notated edits.


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #illustration #wildlife #birds #drawing #sketching #watercolor #ink #scientific #slothicorn #artexplosion #process #timelapse

Sort:  

am glad you're getting the attention your arts deserve, @hglucky13 !! :D :D :D

love that you put how they are occasional 'neighbour' and the mythology story behind their forked tail is also very lovely <3

Thank you!

I tried to take your advice and personalize it as much as possible. Unfortunately, I really rushed through writing it and wish I would have taken a bit more time to polish the post (I may still make some grammatical edits).

Either way, I'm super happy everyone seems to like it. It took me two weekends to make, so I was hoping it would get a bit more attention than my usual posts.

Thanks again!

Dont worry about it! I edit my posts on average 5 times xD (Nothing huge ofcourse)
No one seems to mind, including curators :D

Lol, yeah, I make a lot of minor edits, but usually the post hasn’t gained such popularity first. I just didn’t want anyone thinking I completely changed the content after receiving a bunch of upvotes.

Thanks 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Weeeee! You guys are the best 😊

These are incredible!! Looks adorable and the details are fascinating.
I don't often check jeck videos, but this one was definitely worth it. I've been afraid to ink first and then use watercolor, but now I feel that I should try it out ^^

What is the white tool you use in the end called?

Thank you!

I do wish I had inked a bit less for the preliminary linework as the opaque paints dulled it and required re-inking. I say do whatever you are most comfortable with, and I have much more experience with ink than watercolors.

I believe it is a Gelly Roll white gel pen.

Thank you. I'll check it out :D

Very beautiful, I'd like to see a squirrel next :D

Oooh, I should add squirrels to the “to draw” list. Thank you for your kind words!

Congratulations @hglucky13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

ahh, cute! these birds are so lifelike and have such spirit to them. swallows are some of my favorite birds because of their symbology in old-school tattooing :) but in general, i'm such a sucker for birds, and for scientific illustrations, and for timelapses of people's processes, so this whole thing was so enjoyable.

please make more of these!

Thank you so much! I will definitely be doing more, it’s just slow going with a baby and a full time job. I will be a mom full time in a few weeks, though, so hopefully my productivity will increase at that time. Thank you again, I’m so happy you enjoyed the post!

Original Text and Notated Edits

The Barn Swallow got its name because , of all the different swallows, the Barn Swallow it builds its nest almost exclusively on man-made structures. I can attest to this fact as there are families of them that annually build nests on our apartment buildings breezeway sprinklers. There was only one nest this year, but I always still enjoyed watching the chicks grow up and eventually leave the nest strike out on their own. The three chicks babies from this year left last week and, as if this weekend, have stopped returning at night.

I always enjoy hearing interesting animal mythology stories, Animal mythology stories are fascinating to me. it shows I think they show creative problem solving in early cultures. In the case of the Swallow, early people thought claimed that it stole fire from the gods to bring to the human race. This angered the gods, so they hurled a fireball at the Swallow, hitting its tail. This is the explanation for their forked tails. Pretty cool, right? Stories like that fill my head with illustration ideas.

For this drawing painting, I used watercolor paper, graphite pencils, Copic multiliner brush pen and markers, and some generic watercolor/gouache paints. I’m generally pretty uncomfortable with these kinds of paints. During a scientific illustration assignment in college, however, I found they worked really well. Since I was going for that kind of style here, it was a natural decision.

Well, that’s it for now. Let me know what animals you want to see me draw or paint next and I may give it a shot. Thanks a bunch!

Until next time!

Hi hglucky13,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

OMG!! Thank you so so so much! You guys are awesome! 😍

These birds are so cute, you have amazing skills ✨

Thank you! I certainly don’t mind sharing my living space with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54