Throwback to the Charcoal Days (Original Artwork)

in #art6 years ago

These Shoes Were Made for Drawin'...


1.jpg

Real fast post tonight since I don't like to miss more than one day of posting...

Tonight is a little throwback to one of my favorite charcoal pieces. It's titled "Kicks, Sticks, snd Comics." It was a drawing I did embodying all the things I longed for as a child, but never got to experience until I was an adult. Obviously, I love Converse (although, I have The Sandlot to blame for that), but I also got a short stint of learning the drums when I was 24, too. Funny enough, I'm pretty sure the Akira volume in the image was sold before we moved (still got the awesome glass top drafting table, though).

Anyway, It's something like 40" x 30" in size and is charcoal on charcoal paper and is in storage at my mom's house. I've included some process images below.


2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG


Thanks for bearing with me! Life's been super hectic and I'm not sure when the grind will come to a stop. That being said, I hope to be back with the next daily doodle tomorrow.

Until next time!


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #drawing #stilllife #charcoal #shoes #converse #sneakers #allstar #drums #percussion #blackandwhite #slothicorn #illustration

Sort:  

love this one!
And yes, I agree, charcoals are very messy!

By the end of my time in the drawing program, I was wearing white to class as a challenge to see if I could make it the full hour and a half without getting any charcoal on my shirt. My shirt usually fared well, but I always seemed to end up with at least on dark streak across my face. 😶

Thanks so much!

No way.
NOT even close, could I do that.

Also, at the end of the day, when I took my pants off... there were ALWAYS two dark grey streaks across my thighs where CLEARLY I had brushed my fingers off, time and time again!

The only good news?
All my friends were design majors too, so, we all had the same laundry issue!!!

Have you noticed how TV shows these days put converse shoes on their characters to make them look retro?

I remember having a pair of Converse shoes when I was a kid.

As I recall, they were just a little uncomfortable compared to my loafers which were outright painful.

In olden days, shoes in the store were stiff and one would have to wear them for several months to break them in.

Yeah, actually, I was just watching the rebooted x-files episodes, and Mulder was wearing a pair.

I collected quite a few pairs, but the funny thing was that I wasn’t patient enough to break them in, so I have the first two pairs left because I actually wore them enough to make them comfortable.

Thanks for the insight!

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Yay! Thank you so much! 😊

Great job lady, can tell you must be quite an experienced artist.

Thank you! I’ve been drawing my whole life and was a drawing major for a short while in college. 👩🏻‍🎨

Sorry I called you man in my last comment! 😅 I updated it to be more fitting. lol Also I followed for kindness😁 😎

Ha, no worries, it doesn’t bother me. Besides, I use “man” and “dude” for both genders. No need to apologize.

Also, thank you for the follow!

You are quite talented and even share a nick name with me ;)

Lol, HGLucky? I believe I thought it up in the 9th grade as an internet pseudonym to mean Happy Go Lucky, which was ironic because I was anything BUT at the time. Hooray for angsty brooding teenage years! 😅

Thank you for the kind words!

Part of one then I guess. Just Lucky here. Always find four leaf clovers and other such things. 😎

Great work!! Excellent values and contrast. I need to do some charcoal. Haven’t work with that in a while.

Thank you! I really miss the rich blacks charcoal provides, but I do NOT miss the mess. I mostly work with ink now.

such a talent! i envy you and the fact that you can created something so good with your hands, i cant even draw a house without it looking like a 2 year old did it.

I went to school with people that draw like that that are now working professionally as illustrators, so if you like to draw, do and you will find the right style. Thank you for the kind words!

This is a phenomenal piece of art! Your shading is superb, and all the detail is wonderful (such as the little "nibs" on the toe of the shoe)! I was amazed, too, at the large size of the illustration! You are definitely talented, and I am glad you shared this lovely work with us in PYPT yesterday! 😊

Thanks for checking it out! 'm really loving the ramble group. I was sad that I had to go early yesterday because I wanted to share an art competition going on. Either way, thank you so much for the kind words. Last I heard, this one was still stored at my mom's house. One day I'd like to have it framed and put up somewhere in the house.

Thank you again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95