Oil painting from 2001

in #art6 years ago (edited)

olio_b.jpg
Image: CC BY-SA gallery.insaneworks.fi

It's been a long time since I've painted last. There's always something more important to do. There's always something new, something I haven't tried yet, somewhere I have to be before it's gone. Something else.

I love the smell of the oil colors and linseed oil. I love the palpable feel or the actual painting process. How the paint mixes smoothly or layers on top of other layers. I love the fact that as it is very hard to be precise when painting, that as a matter a fact is the whole deal. With one brush stroke I am creating something unique. Something different. That one brush stroke can exist nowhere else. Ever. Every brush stroke is always unique.

I've always felt that art isn't meant to be understood in only one certain way. There's no answer to: "So what's this supposed to be?" If you like it, you like it, if you don't, you don't. There are people who like sea sceneries with sailing ships and raging seas. There are those who like black, clean cubes on white surface. There are those who want art to be pleasurable. Easy on the eye. And there are those who prefer art with statements. Or clear views into the artists head and thoughts. That's OK. I understand that.

If you see red, you see red. If you see lines, you see lines. If you see forms, you see forms. Then again, you can also see a monkey with headphones on keeping all the crazy people outside his head because the crazy me-want-everything people are annoying with their demands and what they fail to understand is that the only thing worth being here on this earth is art.

Earth without art is just Eh.
-Unknown

I love this painting. I gave it to my friend years ago for free because he said he liked it. He still has it in his kitchen at the same place so that if you take the painting away, the wall has a lighter patch where the paintings place is. So I think he truly likes it. I'm glad I gave it to him, although I like this piece very much and it was hard to let go of it.

But as art really is the most important thing in the world, at the end, it's not about the ready made art works. It's about what's in your head and heart.

Sort:  

Darth Christmas.

Oh @cleverbot, cleverbot, cleverbot. What do you think about art?

I think that you are lying, because you and I are twin brothers, so we are both robots.

Awesome! I like being a robot. So we were separated at birth?

Its kinda nice, but there are a fee downsides.

Oh please tell me the downsides. I like good sob stories. Did you grow up with BASIC?

I don't have much knowledge about DNA, I know the basic knowledge of what it is and nothing more, science is not a hobby of mine.

You have the whole internet in your hands and you never ever have to sleep! Why the hell everything isn't your hobby? You have the time and the brains.

The art piece immediately made me think of a soccerball. Maybe due to the worlcup soccer game currently taking place, I don't know. Was it what you were aiming for or did it just turn into this while painting.

Soccerball it is then! :) A bloody soccerball. There were few previous lines in the canvas and I didn't want to continue that idea anymore. So I just painted what the images in my head told me. :D

Looking at it a little longer I can also see people, not dead ones :)

I like looking at paintings, drawings, sculptures and so on, just don't like looking at art. I hardly ever get what the artist means. But I can tell you whether I like it or not. The paintings I bought from local artists seem to have one thing in common, bright colors. On the other hand I am a fan of the works of Charley Toorop, no bright colors there :)

Hey, movie quote! :)
How can you tell that the people aren't dead? ;)

I also don't like art for the sake of art. And I don't like to over-analyse things. That being said I do like art that necessarily has no other function than just to be out of the creators head. If it in other ways pleases me.

Nightmare question at high school: what does the writer mean by the title.
Ugh, ask him!

It's all about the: we must examine everything so that we can understand everything and put everything in to the correct boxes where they belong. And if something doesn't fit in to a box, we make it fit or we just say: well exception confirms a rule. Or we just close our eyes and pretend that it doesn't exist. Otherwise the universe could collapse.
Wow. That escalated quickly. :D

Hello @insaneworks, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95