Fountain of Youth w/ Process (Traditional, Ink and Markers)

in #art6 years ago

"Fountain of Youth"

9"x12"

Tools:

Deleter Neopiko-line-3
Deleter Black 4 Ink
FW Artists Ink
Art-N-Fly Alcohol Based Markers

20180131_223109.jpg


PROCESS:

This is my entry for Art Explosion Week 26.
The theme being "vintage", oddly enough the first thing that comes to mind for me is old medical equipment such as needles that were used before single use disposable needles were around. Not the usual thing you would expect from "Vintage", but I have odd taste I guess.

I started with a pencil draft so that i could be sure the syringe looked believable before I went in with a fine liner.

20180130_174954.jpg

20180130_190725.jpg

20180130_212753.jpg

Then taking an eraser and lightly erase all of the excess pencil marks before continuing.

20180131_015917.jpg

After I finish the extra details around the syringe, i'll switch to a brush and Deleter Black 4 to fill in the background.
I use a dip pen and FW artists ink to dot out the stars on top of the black background.

20180131_042448.jpg

20180131_170418.jpg

Next up is markers, laying down all of the light colors first then going over top with the darker colors and blending them with a colorless blender.

20180131_173122.jpg

20180131_192313.jpg

An hour or so of blending later and i'll call it finished.

20180131_223109.jpg

footer.png

Sort:  

Oh wow this one is fantastic... sorry I see it passed the 7 day payout though! I have to look into these ink pens and markers. The dip pen for the stars is just a point you dip in white paint?

Again thanks for the inspiration

Thanks man! I'm really happy to hear that my work is inspiring you!
I use a Deleter Fine liner for my line work, A brush and Deleter Black 4 to fill in the black background, and a Dip Pen used for calligraphy with Fw Artists Ink to dot the stars. Though the FW ink isn't very resistant to the markers, I would recommend Deleter white 2 for a more resistant ink (Though it needs to be diluted with water before it will work with a calligraphy dip pen)

Oh cool, thank you for the tips again. I just bought dome ofbthe markers tou told me about for my wife. I made her a picture on canvas with a sharpie for her to colour in.

So I'll get to try them too heehee...

Any time, One of the best parts about information is sharing it!
Though I will mention that the lids of these markers aren't always color correct, so keep a scrap paper beside you to test color before using. (One of the caps in the full set that is obviously yellow ends up being an orange marker, stuff like that) but the colors are nice and they're affordable.

Ok cool I'll keep that in mind. Thanks

How simple it is and what amazing result!! I just love it.

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoy it.

Dude that is amazing. Thanks for showing the process too. To see it from a blank paper to the finished piece is mind blowing.

Thanks dude! I know i'm a sucker for process, I'm glad i'm not the only one!

I do really admire artist like you, keep on!

Thank you! There's definitely more where that came from!

This is great, I love it!!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoy it!

amazing art. awesome

This is really cool -- even to someone who has a fear of needles -- work. I love the mostly black background with the vibrant colors squirting from an otherwise eerie piece of equipment. It's a great take on vintage as well. Medical equipment may upgrade to slim and shiny but there is still much to be gained from looking at where it developed from. @jjay

Thank you! I'm happy you can enjoy it even with your fear of needles!
I had a fear of needles as a child as well, I still have to look away when I get blood taken. But I really enjoy old medical equipment and the history behind medical advances.

Damn, this is cool!

So, is this the key to eternal life here? Are you going to live forever? Maybe I should learn how to draw stuff.

Thank you! The title is mostly a reference to botox injections haha.

Living through others memories of you or through your creations may be the key to immortality for now. Though I wouldn't be surprised if biomedical science got to something that looked like immortality within the next 50 - 100 years.

I think I can probably settle for memories and creations. Not sure if I'd really want to live forever anyway :)

Agreed, Death is necessary for life to thrive. I don't want to live forever either.

Fantastic entry! I'm amazed you did this with markers it's flawless, thank you for joining and also showing your process!

Thank you for hosting the contest! Definitely got my brain working and i'm really enjoying everyone else's entries as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43