Watch This Watercolor Painting Come To Life! - Your Behind the Scenes Look

in #art6 years ago (edited)

intro painting.jpg

Isn’t it fun to see behind the scenes into how something is made? I thought it would be cool to show you the process I use when creating a watercolor.

STARTING WITH INSPIRATION
I usually find some photos that inspire me and then start sketching using a regular old pencil (nothing fancy). I’ve got lots of different pencils that I use for sketching and drawing, but for watercolor, I usually go with something that marks very lightly. I draw directly onto a watercolor “block” which is a bunch of pieces of watercolor paper glued together at the edges (so they won’t warp when the water/paint is applied).

sketch.jpg

GETTING IT DOWN ON PAPER
I break the photo down and draw small sections at a time. I keep comparing the size of each element (one leaf, compared to another for example) to make sure that I’m drawing it accurately. Sometimes I add in my own variations if the photo isn’t exactly how I want it to be.

LIGHTENING UP
Once I’m happy with the drawing. I use what’s called a kneaded eraser (it’s soft and squishy and kind of fun to make into shapes, when my inner kid comes out!) I press the eraser against the pencil marks to make them get lighter – I don’t want people noticing heavy pencil lines, I want them to see the beauty of the watercolor.

erasing.jpg

WHERE’S THE STARTING LINE?
If I’m painting a landscape I usually start with the background colors, but for something like this, I get right into painting some of the deep dark colors. I like to paint a petal at a time, making each one have it’s own variations and beauty.

starting.jpg

IF ONE PINK IS GOOD, 4 IS BETTER
Next, I get all the colors in my watercolor pallet wet. I’m always using lots of variations of colors. To get a really vibrant and rich deep pink, for example, I use 3-5 variations of pink to give it variation, as if the sunlight is shimmering through the colors.

applying paint.JPG

pallet.jpg

LEAVING GOOD ENOUGH ALONE
While and area is wet I drop in and spread my colors - and then I leave it alone to dry! I continue working in other areas until I love what I’ve got. Important side note: In general, when an area is wet, I don’t go over the same spot more than 1 or 2 times. It ends up damaging the paper, getting kind of “muddy” looking, and you loose some of the “sparkle” that can come from letting the watercolor be transparent. I wait until a painted area is dry and then add small details on top.

kara painting.jpg

center detail.jpg

GIVE ME SOME BACKGROUND
For a painting like this, I then dive into the background – the leaves and stems. I use the same technique of using multiple greens to create rich colors on each leaf and stem.

starting background.JPG

light background painting 2.JPG

GETTING DEEPER
I generally start with the lighter colors and see what I need to add, and where I need to add more drama. The contrast is where the drama and depth comes from so I pay attention to where the lights and darks are close to each other.

darkening background.JPG

background details.JPG

TA-DA!
Then I take a step back and enjoy the end result.

complete painting.jpg

signature.jpg

FRAME OF MIND
Once it’s complete and dry, then it’s time to frame. With watercolors I use frames with glass to protect the paper. I generally use a nice large matte (the thick paper that creates a border around the painting) for watercolors to make the painting really have some “room to breathe” inside the frame. It generally looks better that just a tight frame around the work.

kara holding painting.jpg

Then it’s all packaged up and shipped to the person who commissioned the painting (a commission means someone requested a specific painting to be created custom for them, and paid for a portion of it in advance).

framed.jpg

So there you go, a behind the scenes look at a watercolor coming to life!

I hope you enjoyed it. Follow me for more!

Kara Elizabeth

Sort:  

Ah, this is so cool! I really enjoyed reading about the steps you take and all the details involved. I always love and appreciate the final result, but knowing what goes into it and where mistakes can be made makes it all the more interesting.

It's funny, since you've started sharing your work here, I'm finding myself enjoying your paintings we have all the more. Devon asked today if the three red ones in our bedroom were the inner part of a rose. :) I love these paintings along with the wave near our kitchen which brings me back to the ocean every time I see it.

Stunning....wish I had your talent. UPVOTE from me. How are you doing on here friend xx

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm having so much fun. I think I'm addicted to Steemit. LOL. Trying not to spend too much time here and live real life too. Haha!

your work is beautiful! Definitely worth an upvote! :) Keep it coming!

Awesome, thank you! I'm loving this.

This is a great niche! I would like to invite you to to #MinnowMilitia to help support others steemians like yourself get started. Get your post in front of your targeted audience. This movement is just starting so we are low on members. upvotes will be earned not given or paid for. Together we can grow stronger. AQRXi7J7Ltzaw.gif

Sounds like a cool idea. I'm still learning a lot about how this works and it definitely seems that there is room for improvement in the system. There are a lot of factors too. One the one hand, it seems straightforward - post great content and post a lot and eventually you'll build up a following. But on the other hand, you can invest money in and build your voting power and influence and apparently pay to have more people see your posts. In a lot of ways it seems to just reflect the rest of the world's system. Still trying to wrap my head around it all. But I do think that supporting other people that are starting off is awesome. I'm trying to do that by searching and upvoting things I think are great. I like the minnow militia idea - power in numbers. Not sure how that all works, but the idea is intriguing.

We are just getting started unfortunately gaining momentum will be a grind at first so I'll keep on working. But connecting with members that fit your targeted audience to get upvote earned by the people you make content for is gold. Of course you can pay to get in the trending section but for how long? This community is not that way we support each other with technical issues or with mentorship on improving our channels. Try to stay visible seems exhausting but I think a community like this will make it a tad easier. Come and join if you want to apart of it. https://discord.gg/RfYBkNx

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing! I love seeing the process.

Thank so much! I just looked at some of your fun watercolors that you posted. I want to do some little sketch paintings soon. Sometimes its fun to do some loose and playful work too. Thanks for the great posts you've been doing too.

que belleza tienes un gran talento! Dios te bendiga mas!

¡Muchas gracias por sus comentarios! ¡Gracias a Dios por todo!

Honestly amazed by your talent.

Awwww, thank you! You boost my confidence. Isn't it funny that I still wonder about that (talent) sometimes? I'm moving toward believing that more, and just going for it. Thanks for the encouragement! So appreciate you.

Yes it is and at the same time it's a good sign. That wondering will drive you forwards (so long as you know somewhere in the back of your mind how much potential for amazingness you have ;) )
<3

I love this perspective - I've never heard it explained quite this way. That wondering about if the art is working, if it's finished, if it can be improved - I don't think I've looked at that in such a positive light. What a great way to "frame" it mentally. "This will drive me forward", is going to be my new mantra anytime I'm wondering about the quality of something I'm creating, or anytime doubt tries to creep in. Wonderful perspective - thank you for sharing it with me.

Sending you love <3 <3

kara, thanks for sharing you artwork with us. great talent. upvoted and resteemed..

Cool, thank you so much for that. Definitely appreciated. I'm having fun sharing.

yeah this is very pretty

Thank you so much!

It is beautifull, and it is nice to see the whole process that it went to and all the steps. Thank you for sharing.

Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind comments; I'm glad you liked the step by step process.
I like your "philosophy of happiness" that you wrote about in your introduction post. Very cool. Looks like you've got some wonderful things in the works to share with all of us!

Wow amazing artwork friend.keep it up.great talent.

Yay! I'm glad you liked it. Thank you for the compliment.

Okey!your welcome friend.explore more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71