You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPEED PAINTING of My Latest Pet Portrait (VIDEO)

in #art6 years ago

A friend of mine has done many animal portraits, prize horses and bulls. While he prefers people and landscapes, he says people pay good money for paintings of their beloved non-humans.

Sort:  

Yes. My jam has always been surrealism, but nobody ever commissions me for that, only portraits. It seems that people are also more willing to get a painting of their dogs than they are there human loved ones. So I have been joking for about a year now that I am going to be known as the artist that paints dogs and that one day people are going to look back on all my surreal work and refer to it as my "Dark Period" When really it is what I have preferred to do all along. lol But I have to paint something to pay the bills and it definitely isn't my surrealism doing that.

It depends upon how you do "Surrealism", you can still find a buying audience. But yes, art has to pay its way. Persist, persist, persist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91