You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Should I Write About This: Dammit I Thought I Told Myself to Write Better Titles

in #art6 years ago

Tbh, I always look at your art first, your words are kinda secondary to me. I actually like it when you write less when you intend for an art piece to be the focus.

Sort:  

I'll be doing a lot less writing, I think. It feels like not as many people are even looking these days so it's been a bit demoralizing.

Maybe the word ‘demoralising’ needs to be chainsawed out of your thinking? How much do you genuinely engage in others? Sure you provide upvote support when you happen to notice, but how much do you really read and engage in the post of others beyond your own threads, nonames?

There’s a reason I keep my follow list short, and even though it makes me unpopular, I’ll continue to cull it as people lose relevance or have no time for me. I rationalise to myself that there’s only so much time I have in my life to take an interest in those known to me. I don’t need the validation of a big number. My list is a reminder to take a break from my curiosity in new encounters, which is the reason I’m online, and to revisit people like yourselves who I enjoy and wish to support within the limits I’ve set myself. But I do find daily posters, especially multiple times a day posters and incessant resteemers (bloody @jackmiller) problematic. We’ve only got so time in our life. We cannot dedicate all our time in being an audience to the more industrious.

You are blessed compared to many, maybe not by your lofty standards, but you are. It would be nice to know you’re starting Season 3 with a fighting attitude and not down from the lack of readership. Because when you complain, you sound like so many I’ve listen to who complain. Those who make the observation that people are not reading their stuff, while they themselves don’t read. I don’t care what people say, we all do this to some extent, so it would probably be a good idea to STFU. I find myself suddenly annoyed, so I’ll STFU now too.

Thanks for the lecture. You're accusing me of things I'm not guilty of. For two years, I've been voting manually. I've explained my curation habits on numerous occasions within my posts. I'm not hitting that button and running. What if what's inside is something I don't agree with or enjoy? Not only do I read posts that I vote for, but I read posts that I don't vote for. I've put a lot of time and energy into curating content.

I'm allowed to feel a bit let down when the place dies down and great when it's lively. That's life. Many here experience the same thing and feel the same way.

I should probably also mention, when I'm feeling down and seeing things slip, I'm blaming me, feeling like I'm doing something wrong, not everyone else. I didn't complain and point fingers at anyone or even hint that someone else is doing something wrong. "A bit."

Many times now, you've told me you don't focus on my words but I think if you did take the time to read them, you'd see how often I thank people for their efforts and I actually mean it when I say it. I am not a disingenuous guy.

I’ve tried to reply to this a few times and I struggle to soften my words. You’re a good guy, nonames. You have a heart, and you treat those who visit you with courtesy. In all the time I’ve known you, you’ve come acrossed demoralized. I’m sure we’ve discussed incessant whining in posts and how annoying it becomes.

I do read your words of thanks, I just skim over the parts where you’re in character about your awesomeness or weirdness or what not. It’s the same gig quite often. So I glance at the art and I skim. I drop in and leave comments because I want to be supportive of what makes you unique. I’m just not a fan of the ‘It’s so quiet here’ commentary. It doesn’t seem quiet in your corner to me.

People are voting mostly to be supportive. When I see posts with hundreds of upvotes on vids that have less than 10 views, I think it’s more than obvious that many aren’t paying attention. That’s just how it is on the steemiverse, but we can only commit to reading so many posts. I generally try to comment with my upvotes. That’s my way to express my appreciation.

Someone recently pointed out that we should be posting with the understanding that our readers or potential readers are not on block chain. That we are posting to the wider web. I felt it was an important reminder.

I’m just sharing you my observation, delivered with limited patience of the platform in general. I take the stance that we’re all guilty of the very things we complain about. You don’t have to agree. Anyway, I’m not getting anymore endearing, so it’s best not to further engage. I’m only responding because you’re a decent guy and deserve a proper reply.

Someone recently pointed out that we should be posting with the understanding that our readers or potential readers are not on block chain. That we are posting to the wider web. I felt it was an important reminder.

I'm already ten steps ahead of you, @linnyplant. We used to have a view counter here and the reason why many of my older posts would receive hundreds if not thousands of views over time was because of my efforts behind the scenes pushing my links elsewhere. It's something I don't need to be reminded of and I take those extra steps to not only promote my own work, but the platform in general and the familiar faces seen leaving their two cents under my posts.

I didn't decide to get into this business and conclude from the beginning it would be all highs and no lows. I came fully prepared knowing the struggles I'd be facing. Just because I'm noticing things have slowed down, this doesn't mean I've turned a blind eye to the things that are going well.

If you look back into my history here, you'll see many posts with hundreds of comments. Over time, I got to know some of these people. One grows attached; you miss them when they're gone, you wonder how they're doing, you hope they're okay. Even while I was on break people wrote me and left kind, reassuring words. Some felt a bit down that I was gone. I still insist it is completely normal to feel a bit down when it gets quiet around here.

This doesn't mean I'm moaning, complaining and acting entitled. I was here, working my way up from the bottom, blogging for seven cent STEEM, never knowing if the value would ever rise, during times that were one hell of a lot quieter than now. When all you can hear is the sound of your own voice, then work up to the point where I'd spend sometimes five or more hours continuously responding to the reaction pouring in on a daily basis, you'll notice when it gets quieter. Things start messing with the mind. What did I do, what did I say, what am I doing wrong. Then I'm reading comments from you and another recently stating they're not really paying attention to the writing, so of course after these incidents I'm going to start feeling as if I should make changes, write less, and hopefully that's what people want. The thing is, I don't work for this minority who chooses to tell me how they ignore my efforts, I work for me, and I personally enjoy writing, even after hearing things like this:

It’s the same gig quite often. So I glance at the art and I skim.

Of course these kind of words will bring someone down, yet before this conversation took place, I was still working my butt off. After I said to you might slow down on the writing, I still worked my butt off, and I have plans for more posts coming right up here in the near future.

I’m only responding because you’re a decent guy and deserve a proper reply.

I'm only responding to set the record straight here on my blog. A lot of what you're saying contradicts who I am, what I stand for, where I've been, what I've done.

I'm finished with this conversation though and look forward to crossing paths with you in the future.

Have a nice day.

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog. So I’m sure you can understand, my time is better elsewhere in future rather than crossing paths. You’re 10 steps ahead anyway. 🙄

You have a nice day too.

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog.

There's no need to take things out of context and if you're doing it intentionally to get a rise out of me, that won't be happening. I'm chill.

Toodles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85