You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A bit like a polygonal jigsaw puzzle - - Thoughts about perfectionism

in #art6 years ago

Hello @sticks! I absolutely love The POLYGONS and also I want to officially welcome you on Steemit! ^^

In past I was struggling with perfectionism as well. Often times I would start something and would throw it away because it would not turn out perfect, exactly the way I pictured it in my mind or the idea would simply not work in reality. It paralyzed my work to a point I would begin to hate it even. Now I realize that it is not so important to always make it perfect, because there is actually something else more important. Getting better and path to progress. Perfectionism can be that beautiful struggle of progress as well, but like you pointed out, it has its downsides. So I tell myself, that it is OK if it is not perfect as long as can see even slightest progress with my work and focus on that.

Can't wait to see with what you come up next :)

Sort:  

:D hey @m31 and thank you so much! I am really glad to be here! Everyone has been so nice and welcoming so far ^^

Yes, being paralyzed because of the realization that I do not yet have the skill to get the picture like I want it to be and the frustration about that… I have lost count of the projects I started and did not finish because of that. But most of them I still cherish and hope to get back to at some point, when I have the skills that I am currently still missing ^^

Yes, I agree, process and progress is what counts, this should be the main source for the fun in creating art! Though the result matters as well, for one as a comparison if the art has gotten any better and also, if you want to make a living with art, as something to sell and publish ^^ But as a perfectionist I guess, most of the time I am way too harsh on myself and the results would have been worth selling or publishing waaay before I was satisfied (or not) with them.

I think what might be worth looking into is the japanese working spirit. The Japanese are striving for perfection in almost every craft and they are doing that whilst knowing that they are not there yet and maybe never will be, so they should basically be unsatisfied all the time, but they do absolutely not seem like they are. Or at least those few I have been watching videos of so far ^^. They seem to be happy with the way to perfectionism, with the journey. Would really like to have that kind of mindset :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83