A bit like a polygonal jigsaw puzzle - - Thoughts about perfectionism

in #art6 years ago

Panda#02_1500x1500.jpg

Unfortunately I am a perfectionist when it comes to my artwork. I say unfortunately, because that means that I can put hours and hours into one single illustration and still not be satisfied with the results. Sometimes weeks pass, on one project it even took me years till it was finished. That is not an effective and economic way to produce stuff.

That being said: There is something about perfectionism that I find absolutely fascinating :) Searching for the perfect outcome can be deeply satisfying (and also soothing in a way), like doing a complicated jigsaw puzzle, trying to solve a math problem, working on solving a riddle. It is this state of being highly focused, simultaneously trying to form and find the idea in your head and transferring it to the page or the screen, trying and trying again, to get it just right. And if you finally found what you were looking for, that feeling of accomplishment is just absolutely awesome (and also addicting ^^). The POLYGONS kind of thrive from that. The main joy for me in creating them is searching for the perfect shape, putting them together piece by piece, line by line, as simplified as possible but still representing the character of the animal they depict.

To be honest I don’t think that my stuff is even close to perfect. Most of the time, after I have finished a picture and thought I had it, I start to see several flaws. That is a huge problem of perfectionism. You compare yourself on such a high scale and you are trying to achieve something, that is practically impossible to achieve by a human being, that you will most of the time come out of it unsatisfied. But those few times that you reach it, that you are actually satisfied with a picture even after weeks have passed, that feeling of accomplishment I think is sometimes worth all the troubles and the hours of searching nonetheless.

So I am kind of torn when it comes to perfectionism. I see the negatives and I know that they are severe, but I do also absolutely acknowledge the positive. So my solution to this is doing multiple art series at a time. Learning how to be content with “not perfect” for most of them and therefore being able to produce more pictures, but celebrating perfectionism with the one project, the POLYGONS :)

I guess, what I am saying here is: You are most likely going to see some other stuff on this blog soon ^^

https://www.instagram.com/annamarenzehnter/
https://www.facebook.com/Art.of.Anna/
https://www.annamarenzehnter.de/index-en.html

Panda#01_1500x1500.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @sticks! I absolutely love The POLYGONS and also I want to officially welcome you on Steemit! ^^

In past I was struggling with perfectionism as well. Often times I would start something and would throw it away because it would not turn out perfect, exactly the way I pictured it in my mind or the idea would simply not work in reality. It paralyzed my work to a point I would begin to hate it even. Now I realize that it is not so important to always make it perfect, because there is actually something else more important. Getting better and path to progress. Perfectionism can be that beautiful struggle of progress as well, but like you pointed out, it has its downsides. So I tell myself, that it is OK if it is not perfect as long as can see even slightest progress with my work and focus on that.

Can't wait to see with what you come up next :)

:D hey @m31 and thank you so much! I am really glad to be here! Everyone has been so nice and welcoming so far ^^

Yes, being paralyzed because of the realization that I do not yet have the skill to get the picture like I want it to be and the frustration about that… I have lost count of the projects I started and did not finish because of that. But most of them I still cherish and hope to get back to at some point, when I have the skills that I am currently still missing ^^

Yes, I agree, process and progress is what counts, this should be the main source for the fun in creating art! Though the result matters as well, for one as a comparison if the art has gotten any better and also, if you want to make a living with art, as something to sell and publish ^^ But as a perfectionist I guess, most of the time I am way too harsh on myself and the results would have been worth selling or publishing waaay before I was satisfied (or not) with them.

I think what might be worth looking into is the japanese working spirit. The Japanese are striving for perfection in almost every craft and they are doing that whilst knowing that they are not there yet and maybe never will be, so they should basically be unsatisfied all the time, but they do absolutely not seem like they are. Or at least those few I have been watching videos of so far ^^. They seem to be happy with the way to perfectionism, with the journey. Would really like to have that kind of mindset :)

The first pose is awesome!

@tarazkp Thank you! ^^ I like it too, he looks a bit like he is sad about not having food atm but is too lazy to get up and get some, which is a bit how I feel right now :D

Yes I can understand that, I do the same mostly in everything. But thats what makes is special. Great work!

^^ Thank you so much!

You welcome :)

O looking forward for more perfect drawings. I am a totally opposite when come to painting. I think is a natural for an artist to look and look over the painting and do some more retouch ... U done a great job. bravo @dorotea

Thank you @dorotea ^^ Yes, I guess a lot of artist work that way, though I also do know a lot that don't and I envy them because they seem so much less pressured and a in a way more free and at ease when creating their art. Wish I could be more like that ^^

I LOVE your polygons and they are all perfect! 💙🦄

:D Thank you @nelyp!

Something I want to point out it that not only is shape and composition important, but your art also has an additional feature that makes it stand out and different (well, from my own style at the very least). I love how your pandas are textured. It even looks like paper craft of some sort. I assume these are digital pieces, but different "paper textures" and subdued colors create such photorealism, it's amazing.

Thank you @jamesartville ^^ But these are not done digitally, though I am now kind of proud to here you say that they look like it ^^ These are drawn by hand, hence the paper texture. I drew them with copic markers, crayons and ink. Though the originals are about 20x20cm each, so I shrank them a bit on the PC. Definitely will do a post about how the POLYGONS are made at some point!

Congratulations @sticks, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2030 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $732.61. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

awesome work! now following you!

Thank you! ^^

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99