SHIFTING TIDES: Abstract art painting

in #art6 years ago (edited)

0F3AA1B9-532A-4048-8554-07F32DEB4A03.jpeg

SHIFTING TIDES

The seas shifts with the tides on the dark side of the moon..
Whispering secrets to her Stars..
Her angelic halo
Hidden from the light
Blessed with divine knowing
Of the other worlds
That lie above and oh so deep below
Ethereal creatures drift on by..
Entrancing all the innocent eyes..

This abstract art piece was creating solely with 1 large cup of a “dirty pour”. A dirty pour is created by mixing a range of high flow acrylics with a pouring medium. I then add a tiny bit of silicone (wd40) to a few of the colours.
From there in a separate cup I pour in small amounts of the colours layer upon layer.
I’ll choose a spot that I want the flow to spill out from & flip the cup onto the canvas & wait a few moments for it to all shift down before lifting the cup. There’s a range of ways to create movement when doing this style of painting. In this particular piece I moved the canvas around which shifted the paint in different directions. Then I used a small blow torch on areas to bring out “cells”. This is a technique which by applying heat pulls the silicone through the paint as there’s a chemical reaction that occurs.

B2E63330-AFBD-4BCE-8446-2F37007811CA.jpeg

Sort:  

This one is full of pareidolia!
I love it!

This is amazing! Yet again you mystify me. All the tiny little sparkles, and the whimsical swirls and the sea blue and space purple and bottom-of-the-forest-floor green.. it's such a delicate explosion. Who even knew such a thing was possible? Much love and respect for your art. ♥ Cheers!
♥-serena

Also the fact that you use a blowtorch to create your work is badass. BADASS.

The blowtorch has been quite amusing at times when I’ve not got the control of the flame right & sent out a burst across the room.. 🤣 when that happened I felt lucky to still have my eyebrows!!

In my high school on prom night a girl had too much hairspray in her hair (it was in poof days) and she leaned over too close to a candle and her hair caught on fire and she lost her eyebrows as well. LOL. I understand the realness

Thanks so much @paintingangels! So many favourite colours in this one.. I’m glad you like this piece.. I’m thinking to try something similar on a bigger canvas. 💜

Congratulations @marysemciver! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hola muy buenas noches, una vez más, hermoso poema y gran pintura.
personalmente puedo ver en la pintura, algunas formas humanas sufriendo...es solo mi imaginación, no intento decir que tu obra es mala.

Hello very good night, once again, beautiful poem and great painting.

Personally I can see in the painting, some human forms suffering...is only my imagination, I'm not trying to say that your work is bad.

@soundwavesphoton come check this out... this is 100% up your alley...

Beautiful, I smelled see foam and salty air before I read the title.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62