CracklingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

The application I use for creating fractals is JWildFire, a free Java-based program. It has a very convenient feature that produces a ribbon of random fractals with which you can then play and tweak. I usually avoid using those, as they more or less fall into standard categories, and it is easy to recognize them for what they are; I see many people posting fractal pictures, which are obviously made by just pressing the "random" button and no further work.

But in some cases, the random results are interesting and can be a good starting point for a more complex fractal. The steps I describe below is not the whole process of course, just some milestones of all the effort it takes to produce a picture that feels nice.

This is the case for today's fractal. It started as a randomly generated one, the flower-type which is often seen on the picture boards around the internet. At this point I only added some background gradient colors:
1.jpg

I then added a couple of transformations to make the picture more complex:
2.jpg

I toned down the brightness & saturation to reduce the burn-out results, and added more details. It started to look like a contraption that produced lightnings, crackling and jumping outwards:
3.jpg

I played some more with the colors and framing, to bring the picture at a good point for the final render. I also added some more abstract fractals for the black tendrils that create a more worn-out effect:
a.jpg

Crackling


released under CC BY-SA 4.0
Attribute to: @nyarlathotep
Link to: https://busy.org/@nyarlathotep/

Details:


1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg

Sort:  

It good to know that there were free jave base program available. It good that you show us how the program looks like and how it works. The final effect was fantastic. The color seems turn into gold color. It is easy to learn this program?

Thank you for your comment. I already had some background with fractals, so I can't tell if it is easy as a new-user-experience. But I think that the feature that produces random fractal is very useful as a starting point, and helpful for new users that do not have the background to create their own fractals from scratch.

It makes me think of a thunderstorm... like the flower was hit by a thunder and about to burst. If I think about it further it can also be some sort of an earthquake and the pattern would be about to break apart... whichever interpretation I choose it is simply stunning! I like the light effects that you achieved :) You made something great out of something simple!

Thank you for sharing!

Very interesting interpretation(s) of the image, thanks for your insight. You might like the way the image evolved, with the help of Deep Dream Generator, in this post.

You're having a lot of fun with them :) I like them all but my favorite would be the first one.. it looks like a beautifully carved piece of a metal :)

And the bonus picture looks like a rain forest with all those beautiful animals :)

You're doing great job with these!

Looks beautiful. I still don't know how you did it after reading the post but i do like the result from it.

Hello there @nyarlathotep!

I have never heard of such app before now. Im glad I bump into this post. Thank you for introduxing JWildFire with us and what it can do.

You did a great job on it! You seems very comfortable using it. I dont know how you do it but it turned out quite good. I believe it takes hard work to produce one.

Keep uo and more artworks!

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

There are many apps for exploring fractals, and some free ones that are really good, like JWildFire and Mandelburb3d. With fractals, there is always something more to explore, no matter how much effort you make into making one; it is practically an endless universe! Thanks for your kind words.

Oh really.. thats great to know atleast we could try one anx explore a bit. You are right, it is practically an endless exploration.

Thabjs again for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know this application, but I think It is great like your artwork.
Thank you ti share It with us!!!!!!
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaaaaaaa

Looks like it's about to burst, at first, but when I settle my eyes on it, I think it kinda looks like more tendrils than lightning :)

Really nice colour scheme, the gold and electric yellow are bringing the thought of heat nicely !

Thanks spider, your comments are always spot-on - I was trying to get that feeling of heat and electricity you mention :)

im glad ! :D i always feel good for paying attention to the posts im commenting and then when i connected to the artist when they validate what i observed........ well i feel really great ! :D :D :D

Hi nyarlathotep,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for your support and continuous effort.

it looks like a very powerful flower maybe a mysterious alien creature thanks for sharing

Thank you for this digital art, I remember I heard first time about fractals from my son, who explained me what it is and how to create them, he is really good in computer and math, so you can imagine how I felt like a pupil. But that was interesting topic, seeing your final picture that is really good, looks like the old painting that sometimes have crackles and features of aging but that makes old painting worthy too. Beautiful composition and colors :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45