Welcome Space Cadet Lollipop

in #art5 years ago (edited)

'She had graduated from the Academy on Rogus One just yesterday. When she found herself in the middle of a war zone here on Carelia.'

'Her lieutenant fell victim to a sneaky surprise attack, leaving the full weight of the platoon's command on her young shoulders.'

'An alien planet, new mates and an unexperienced leader. '

'Space Cadet (Lauri) Lollipop at your service! Pleased to meet you.'

***

Enlight262.JPG

This is a re-post from my Instagram account OceanDreamIllustration hence the black borders.

Several things had happened. I have been working on manga and anime style and human form in general for a while now. And at some point I designed this character and gave it some faintly military features.

Then, I was thinking that manga and comics go really well with markers. The only ones I owned were water based Tombows, which I like, but I really am a noob with markers. I think they worked fine, though I had a little problem with the paper, which was a bit thin for the markers. Anyhow, as a result of using markers I ended up with some really popping colors.

Military + popping colors + my love for sci-fi/space = born was 'Space Cadet Lollipop'.

Of course, when I posted it to Instagram, I had to add the mini-story :)

Let me know what you think!

***

Here is my step-by-step process from pencil to ink to marker:

divider.png
!Enlight264.JPG
divider.png
Enlight263.JPG
divider.png
Enlight262.JPG
divider.png

***

Thanks for reading and viewing. I hope you enjoyed!

***

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

A cute drawing, @oceanbee :) I like how you designed her space suit and I love her pose and expression :) She looks like she's talking to a wrist-phone thingy and she's feeling quite confident about her mission, judging from the smile on her face :D

The design is very retro sci-fi and that is one of the styles that I usually find very charming :D

Love the thorough step by step presentation, also !

Good work <3

Thanks @veryspider! I had a lot of fun designing her and I'm glad her confidence shows. Since this one, which was the first, I made three more pics with her, but I have not colored them yet.

Great artwork!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much

I'll be waiting a new artwork of yours.
It'll be my screen backgrond!
Salutations ;)

Posted using Partiko Android


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 52. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Congratulations @oceanbee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Beautiful work! I especially love seeing some of your process in creating it!

I found this post because @celinavisaez featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Thanks so much for visiting, I am very grateful for @celinavisaez for featuring me

¡Hola @oceanbee! fuimos uno de los ganadores, del concurso, anímate a participar, es un maravilloso concurso, también te invito a unirte a la comunidad #ccc, usa su etiqueta, participa en sus concurso y has tus publicaciones con más de 200 palabras, estos concurso son un apoyo que te hacen crecer, un beso.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70