⭐️ANTIQUE THURSDAY - A COLLECTOR'S CABINET ⭐️

in #art5 years ago

Antique Thursdays Cover.jpg

Happy Thursday, Steem Fam! For this week's Antique Thursdays, I have an extra special piece to share with you. A Beautiful Bird's Eye Maple Wood Collectors Cabinet on Turned Legs. What a mouthful, hey! I wonder what was once housed in these drawers?!

IMG_8200.jpg

What a beauty!

I recently purchased this for my shop at an auction. No one else was interested in it, and I just can't understand why. In my experience, anything with multiple drawers is a BIG seller.

IMG_8203.jpg

Besides the economy of the piece, it is truly and painstakingly gorgeous, a perfect example of old school craftsmanship. No factory in China is ever going to recreate this, and for me, that is the beauty of antique and vintage items.

IMG_8201.jpg

It is made from Bird's Eye Maple, which tells me that it has origin in Canada/North America or Central Europe. Judging by the simplicity of the piece, I would say it was handmade, possibly in the early 1900's

I just love the multiple drawers, and can think of many uses for it. A bespoke gentleman's dressing room, to house ties and socks? A large and simple Victorian style bathroom, to keep hand towels and soaps?

What would you use it for?

footer.png

Sort:  

So you're into antiques, that's cool! Can you yourself assess the type of wood it was made of or did it have a certificate/history about it?

It is a nice piece of furniture. I have a couple of friends who are very fond of collecting antiques, although on a small scale. I think I will be showing some of theirs at some point.

I am indeed, I am actually an antiques dealer here in Cape Town.

So, I do know many types of wood, and would have been able to spot that this is maple, but the person I bought it from told me what it was!

Nice to see you on my blog! Thank you for your comment x

That is a pretty sweet cabinet for sure, it is a shame it is missing a few pulls on the drawers but overall it is in really nice shape from the pics.
Maple is a really pretty wood in my opinion.

Ah! We fixed the handles - can't even see that it has been repaired. My team is sooo good

I love maple. It's very soft and elegant

Nice to see you Papa San!

Hah I've never been into this stuff, pretty amazing u can guess when was it produced :D how much did u pay for it? I have no idea if it's in tens or thousands really :D

Posted using Partiko Android

It's what I do for a living, I am an antiques dealer, so I do need to know these things ⭐️⭐️

We buy and sell the pieces, so I try to buy low and sell... high. :D

Hello that is a beautiful drawers:)i never been to an auction it will be interesting to see one:)

ooh! It is super fun! Stressful, exciting, exhilarating, all at the same time!

I don't think that is a simple piece. It looks like the drawer fronts are veneer that was cut from the same stock--you can see how the diagonal darker spot is repeated on the bigger drawer fronts and one of the smaller drawers. The raised panels in the doors are also lovely and have an unusual pattern cut into the topmost portion. If you look at how the drawers are constructed, that could give you a clue as to whether it was produced by machine or hand. If the drawers are dovetailed and the dovetails are irregular (or you see a fine line at the base) then they were probably cut by hand. In any case, it is a lovely piece.

Proud member of @powerhousecreatives

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Old furniture is sturdy, well made and beautiful.

Your piece may have been used in a hallway for extra packing, plus a place to put shoes when entering a home.

Cabinet with drawers another lovely piece, never enough drawers in a house.

Please don't sell me, getting though my home is stacked with ball and claw plus older pieces, I have no idea the value of any piece I love being surrounded by quality inherited pieces.

When you buy pieces like this, do you fix them up? Liks say if there are scratches or like that one drawer that is missing a handle thingy. Would you replace it? Or sell as is? I often wonder what goes in to being an antiques dealer :P

I love the lots of little cabinets and it has beautiful wood! I'm not sure I would have it for myself though... I don't like the height, with so little on the bottom half... I would prefer it if was drawers all the way!

It's too beautiful I might not even want to put anything in! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94