My Recent #maysketchaday Sketches

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Dear friends,

as you might know, I'm participating in this year's #maysketchaday, where I basically "exercise daily to build immunity to perfectionism. Any medium, anything goes."

In this post I want to show you my latest works, that I created under this tag. Let's start with today's sketch:

May, 11th

art812_Fotor.jpg
"Softfork" - Pencil on Paper

I call this piece "Softfork", because the small circles remind me of a blockchain, where the arm and leg actually are forks of the original body (and the fingers and toes are forks of the arm and leg).

May, 10th

dada10th.jpg
Abstract dAdA - Digital Art

My 10th #maysketchaday was a digital drawing at dada.nyc made in reply to a visual convo about "Abstract Expressionism".

May, 9th

shortcut2.jpg
"A General's Decision" - Digital Art

My 9th sketch was done using ArtRage and has been an entry for this @adsactly illustration contest.

May, 8th

8may_Fotor.jpg
"IT-Girl" - Digital Art

My 8th sketch was again done using ArtRage and my trackpad. Mind the #8!

May, 7th

7Mai_Fotor.jpg
"Chain Squad" - Digital Art

My 7th #maysketchaday was made using CorelPainter and I release it under CC-BY, so feel free to make a colored version.

May, 6th

horses.jpg
"Seahorse" - Artvideo Screenshot

For the 6th sketch I have chosen a screenshot from this artvideo called "A Swarm of Seahorses on a Coral Reef of Weed". It is a remix video based on the photos of @roused and music by @katharsisdrill.

May, 5th

IMG_9873_Fotor.jpg
"Golden Rain" - Digitally manipulated Photo

My 5th work was a digital image manipulation made with a very cool app called Glitché. It actually shows some real golden rain from our garden.

May, 4th

04_05_Fotor.jpg
"Max ICO" - Digital Drawing

The 4th sketch was done using the opensource drawing tool Krita and you can get a high-res CC-BY-SA version at my @creativechain account.

May 3rd-1st

I already published the first three #maysketchaday's in this post about Art and Blockchain, so here are just the images again without further explanations:


"FORK" - Acrylic on Canvas Paper


"Novice" - Digital Drawing


"ATH" - Digital Drawing

I also posted the works on my twitter account and have received a lot of likes and retweets, so if you're also on twitter, feel free to follow me and spread the word. I think (besides Steemit) it's a great place to interact with fellow crypto artists.

Which is your favorite? Please tell me in the comments!

Thanks for watching!

@shortcut - 2everything



follow_shortcut.gif

Sort:  

That's a lot of variety, of media and 'look'. All very skilled, but my favourite by a distance is "ATH", with its impression of a separate background and foreground. A "digital drawing" but it would look great printed up on a large scale and hung. Keep exploring.

(I got here from your Damo post - @playlistfin on Twitter.)

Thanks for having a look at my art!
I really appreciate your feedback and I totally agree, that ATH would look great on a large scale. Tags like #maysketchaday are cool to keep the creative juices flowing and to try out different techniques without thinking too much.

It's like someone's story I was looking at yesterday, which arose out of the challenge of having to incorporate three different prompts (one I remember being to work in the phrase "a jar of pickled cactus").

I'm new here but getting to like the place more and more now I'm making a few contacts. Just feeling my way and will soon be posting on a variety of topics but mainly music (all sorts). Obviously Can are on my list, which is pretty long. I've thought of doing series where I post linked articles on five successive days. So the overall theme might be Krautrock (not that I like that term very much, but it seems to be established), and there would be posts / days on Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Can, Julian Cope's 'Krautrocksampler', some of the great bands like Neu, Cluster, la Dusseldorf etc., etc. OK, so maybe a week wouldn't be enough - I'd need at least two!

Thanks for the upvote. :o) See you around.

I'm also happy to connect and I'm definitely lookig forward to reading your 'Krautrock' series.

While I'm at Steemit for almost two years, I've made a lot of interesting connections and had such in deep conversations, I din't experience somewhere else before. I even made some friends, like @katharsisdrill, who is an artist from Denmark (who also has a pretty good music taste) and @roused (who is a music journalist writing for https://www.allaboutjazz.com). Maybe you would also be interested in checking out the "Obscure Revealing's" series by @sature (about discovering unknown Psychedelic Rock).

However, I'm glad that our ways crossed and I'm sure we will keep in contact. Cheers!

Yes, great to connect. I also found FOMO on your Twitter timeline, another one in similar vein to ATH which I also like. I will save some of them into a folder tomorrow.

To be honest I'd been slightly disappointed by the musical content I've encountered on Steemit so far, so it's great to know there are some music hounds on here. Finding them is the problem, so I'm grateful for those recommendations - I've followed all three - and would be interested in any others. That jazz website looks really good. Must admit I've never seen it before, despite the fact I've been researching and writing a book on jazz for the last three years! Actually, it's not quite true. The book is about the prehistory of jazz, which is a bit different. It's 80% finished but I've had to press 'pause' because the money has run out and now I'm relying on crypto to save my skin. Bring on the bull market, if one is ever going to come.

As I say, I feeling my way here for a little while before posting. When I start it will probably partly be with things recycled from my website - seems crazy to put too much original work into things that are not likely to be seen by many.
So 'Krautrock' will have to wait a little while. Since I intend to post quite frequently I won't be doing very in depth articles or sculpting the language as meticulously as that on my website or the Stockhausen and jazz books. For the most part it will be more about pointing people towards things, using a fairly broad brush, and providing links for further exploration. I get the impression people are not looking here for long, complex articles.

As well as the some real Steemit enthusiasts there seem to be quite a few users - how shall I put it? - taking advantage of the platform's decentralized nature (the lack of enforceable rules), with people like Haejin Lee running whatever money-printing schemes they are running. Where do you stand on the use of upvote bots? They don't seem to be thought to be against the spirit, certainly if used for gaining visibility, and I was thinking of resorting to them myself for that purpose. Do you have any tips about where to get balanced views on this type of thing? I've read quite a bit but the people who are most passionate on the subject all seem to have an agenda one way or the other. Any other tips you have would be gratefully received. One thing I haven't got to the bottom of is how much STEEM I would need to buy and power up to start earning rewards. Obviously any is better than than, but would (say) $500 US of STEEM start to really help me?

Speak to you again soon, I hope. Hope I haven't gone on too much - this what happens if you give people more than 140 characters. :o)

Fin

No worries, I'm glad if I can answer a few questions. Writing meaningful comments is a very good way to earn some rewards and more importantly to get noticed by some influental people.

Steemit is definitely not a get-rich-quick scheme, it needs some efforts and endurance to finally earn some decent rewards. But if you constantly contibute to the community, you will definitely earn some rewards. As it's the essence of every social network, acting nicely and communicating with people will bring you some upvotes and (more importantly) will start growing your network.

For some people it's a factor to see, that you're not instantly cashing out all your earnings and rather invest them in Steempower, while the amount of Steempower at first gives you more voting-weight to vote for others. I regularly use a tool called Steemworld, where you're able (besides a lot of more interesting things) to simulate the worth of your vote (Simulate SP).

Or you could lend some Steempower and try out how it feels to have some. For example you can lend about 150 SP for 1 Steem/week at Minnowbooster.

Another thing is, that I'm totally bullish about cryptos in general and certainly the value of Steem will rise, when the value of Bitcoin rises. There are quite a few people seeing the future Steemprice between $10-20 and we already saw $8 in January (but this is not an investment advise).

Regarding voting bots, there is a good website called Steem Bot Tracker, where you can see the ROI and other useful infos. It's true, that quite a few peope are strictly against the use of votebots and personally I only use them, when I really want to push the visibilty of a post (like the Damo Suzuki post) or if I want to give a friend of mine an extra vote, when I see, that his post does not get the rewards, I think, it should get.

On the other hand, voting bots are an appropiate way to kickstart your Steemit-career, when you're a new user. So, I'm not strictly against them, only against the excessive use (when people already have earned a lot).

So, just a few words about the content, you're going to post. In my observation, posts that have a personal touch are definitely working a lot better, than just "wiki-style" articles with a few links. (Although Steemit posts automatically have a great google ranking and really can help improving the SEO-score of a linked website). When you start, you should tell a bit about yourself and your projects, why you're here, what you're going to write about and so on.

You should definitley care about using the right tags like #introduceyourself for the first post and generally tags, that are seen by a lot of people. The Steemit homepage usually shows you the most used tags on the left site. And let me know, when you're up to posting. I can definitely help you getting some more visibilty by resteeming and telling a few people about you.

Nuff said for now. Good luck and good night!

Thanks for responding in such detail – this is as helpful as I could have wished. You confirm a lot of the conclusions I have been reach independently: that visibility and its rewards won’t come quickly but only with persistence; that engaging (organically) with others will help the process – Steemians cannot live by posts alone as I think the Bible says; that tagging is worth paying attention to; and that bots are not necessarily bad if used for benign purposes like getting visibility for yourself or others.

I’ve come across Minnowbooster but don’t really know what it entails, while Steemworld and Steem Bot Tracker are new to me and will also have to be checked. Thanks for these leads. What you say about keeping it personal is interesting. In a way it goes against my instincts and the objectivity of a lot of the factual writers I admire, but I’ll try to find a way, being me without making it about me. I suppose one concern I have is the demand for what I do. If most of my posts are about classical music, how many are going to read them?

I’ll be doing my #introduceyourself soon, though I won’t post it until I’ve built up a little stockpile which I’ll release maybe one a day while writing others. I’ll certainly be letting you know when I go live and appreciate your fantastic offer of spreading the word on my behalf.

So what’s your guess about this darned crypto market? Every time it looks as though a real run is possible we get slapped down. Are we correcting now and will soon be making a higher high, or are we destined to go back to $6K. Who the hell knows? What I do know is I could do with a run, and one or two or my moonshots to go crazy – that would give me some breathing space.

Have a great night - what's left of it. I think you're living in Bonn (Beethoven Town as think of it), yes?

Hello again!

this is as helpful as I could have wished.

Glad, it is :-)

What you say about keeping it personal is interesting. In a way it goes against my instincts and the objectivity of a lot of the factual writers I admire, but I’ll try to find a way, being me without making it about me.

Just ask yourself, if you would have engaged with me in that way, if I wouldn't have told you (in my Damo post), that I have a personal interest in supporting the film-project. On the other hand, I just want you to follow your instincts, so maybe just keep it in the back of your mind.

I suppose one concern I have is the demand for what I do. If most of my posts are about classical music, how many are going to read them?

There is an audience for every topic. What sense would it make, when you would post about stuff, that you think your readers like to read, but you feel no passion for? This is the most important thing, I've learned here. Do what you love and then the rewards will follow automatically. (Isn't that also from the Bible?)

I’ll be doing my #introduceyourself soon, though I won’t post it until I’ve built up a little stockpile which I’ll release maybe one a day while writing others.

I'm looking forward to reading it. When I started here, I often tried to make some things too perfect and then my expectations were often not satisfied. That's why I started a little series called the #morgenseiten, where people should write posts without thinking too much. But "every reveler is different", like we say here in the Rhine area.

So what’s your guess about this darned crypto market?

I don't know, but I can remember how it took a few years until Bitcoin was worth $800 (that was the time, when I bought my first) and from there kept falling and falling down to $200 (I certainly wished, I would have bought a lot more at that price). The rest is history and history is repeating. So, I can totally understand, that a new height would give you "some breathing space" (me too). But when I've learned anything during that time, it is: "Keep hodling!" - The new heights will come, that's for sure!

Have a great night - what's left of it. I think you're living in Bonn (Beethoven Town as think of it), yes?

Have a great night, too! You're right, I'm living in Beethoven's birth town (and it's a great place to be ;-)

Cool drawings, and very diverse! My personal favourites are May 11th, May 5th (our Golden Rain has bloomed here as well, haha!), "FORK" and 'Novice'. Good stuff!

Thanks a lot for your feedback :-) It's always a great pleasure to know, that other artists care about my stuff.
You've been a bit quiet recently, don't you? Hopefully you're doing good!

My pleasure! And yeah, a bit quiet but I'm doing good, thanks, man!

There have been some changes IRL which took time and energy, but I think I've got something for steemit coming soon :)

Cool! Looking forward :-)

When I say the first image, I suddenly imagine that a giant octopus walk up to the land...:) @shortcut

Two of them I like most, one is "Softfork" - Pencil on Paper and the other one is "A General's Decision" - Digital Art.

"A General's Decision" - Digital Art. look like the calm space with it soft color

regards

Thanks for your feedback!
I also like both of the pieces you mentioned and I can also see that walking octopus. He needs more arms to become a real octopus, maybe he can fork them.
Unfortunately "A General's Decision" did not win a price, because my competitors were just too strong ;-)

These art are really colorful, it really caught my attention, thanks for organising morning stream of consciousness it has really helped me a lot on how to create a good post and always get to valuable one, keep the good work flowing man. #morgenseiten

Glad you like the art and I'm happy to read, that my #morgenseiten and #releaseyourinnerhippie initiatives are of some good use :-)

I like number 6 and number 7, honestly for this aside I do not understand what picture you draw, this color is interesting, that's all in my opinion

Thanks for your feedback!

Creative and artistic artwork , your artwork looks unique and special. Forrest blend and creative touches to your artwork. Really nice and of high quality @shortcut

Thanks a lot for your feedback! I'm glad, that you like my artworks :-)

every art have creativity and own style, skill and performance too.

You have such beautiful artistry. Wishing you only the best my friend. Blessings @shortcut.

Thank you :-)

well that right there is art and its beautiful

Thanks for your appreciation :-)

unbelievable art capacity first one......you have always nice idea of somthing new creation..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95