You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Recent #maysketchaday Sketches

in #art6 years ago

Hello again!

this is as helpful as I could have wished.

Glad, it is :-)

What you say about keeping it personal is interesting. In a way it goes against my instincts and the objectivity of a lot of the factual writers I admire, but I’ll try to find a way, being me without making it about me.

Just ask yourself, if you would have engaged with me in that way, if I wouldn't have told you (in my Damo post), that I have a personal interest in supporting the film-project. On the other hand, I just want you to follow your instincts, so maybe just keep it in the back of your mind.

I suppose one concern I have is the demand for what I do. If most of my posts are about classical music, how many are going to read them?

There is an audience for every topic. What sense would it make, when you would post about stuff, that you think your readers like to read, but you feel no passion for? This is the most important thing, I've learned here. Do what you love and then the rewards will follow automatically. (Isn't that also from the Bible?)

I’ll be doing my #introduceyourself soon, though I won’t post it until I’ve built up a little stockpile which I’ll release maybe one a day while writing others.

I'm looking forward to reading it. When I started here, I often tried to make some things too perfect and then my expectations were often not satisfied. That's why I started a little series called the #morgenseiten, where people should write posts without thinking too much. But "every reveler is different", like we say here in the Rhine area.

So what’s your guess about this darned crypto market?

I don't know, but I can remember how it took a few years until Bitcoin was worth $800 (that was the time, when I bought my first) and from there kept falling and falling down to $200 (I certainly wished, I would have bought a lot more at that price). The rest is history and history is repeating. So, I can totally understand, that a new height would give you "some breathing space" (me too). But when I've learned anything during that time, it is: "Keep hodling!" - The new heights will come, that's for sure!

Have a great night - what's left of it. I think you're living in Bonn (Beethoven Town as think of it), yes?

Have a great night, too! You're right, I'm living in Beethoven's birth town (and it's a great place to be ;-)

Sort:  

Hi again

All gratefully received and taken on board. Be myself and let the chips fall where they may, that’s the lesson I take from it. “Jede Jeck ist anders” – hadn’t heard that one before, but of course it’s true (“different strokes for different folks” the Americans say). “Do what you love and then the rewards will follow automatically” – that’s from the Apocrypha (Apokryphen), I believe. :o) My memory of Bonn, where I would sometimes take the Strassenbahn on my day off from the hotel I was working in, was that it was a quieter city than I’d expected This was 35 years ago though, unbelievable as it seems to me.

I had a look at #morgenseiten and found @roused’s post about Elvis (and Bowie, and the Beatles) in Germany, then another about Johnny Otis – so this was something else I have to thank you for. You’d already mentioned him, which I realised only after reading these posts.

I hadn’t even heard of Bitcoin last August. This is what living in a bubble of research and writing will do for you. I’m one of the naivlings who got in at the top, which is why I’m struggling now. Not only that but I bought the dip that turned out not to be the dip, believing those who said BTC would never be as low as $12 again.

On the subject of the book, if you have any interest in seeing a draft shoot me an address and I’ll email. Purely for the interest of seeing what it is, I mean, not for reading, let alone providing feedback. Just to open the door, glimpse at the madness within, slam it shut again and run away.

Fin

Sorry for the delay. I'm quite busy these days, cause there is a new "General Data Protection Regulation" in the EU coming up and I have to update the privacy policies of several websites, before I go to a city trip next week.

Bonn is still relatively quiet, but I'm totally in love with the city. Maybe, if I were younger, I'd prefer to live in Cologne for the parties and concerts, but being almost 50 years old has made me a lot more settled. I really enjoy the nature around the Rhine and the Siebengebirge and if I need some action, I can still be in Cologne in half an hour.

I'm glad you checked out the #morgenseiten and found @roused - he's a really amazing guy. He had some similar thoughts about posting his interviews at Steemit, because the audience for Jazz music at Steemit seems to be a bit too small, maybe he can tell you a bit about his experiences.

Buying at the top can really be frustrating, but not as frustrating as selling at the bottom. I made this mistake several times and wished I could go back in time and change it. But if I wouldn't have made those mistakes, I wouldn't have stumpled upon Steemit, which is something I was always searching for. So maybe that's what another Cologne saying is about: "Et kütt wie et kütt." (It comes as it comes.)

I'd really like to open Pandora's box and have a "glimpse of the madness within" your book ;-) My email is the same as my username here @gmail.com

Until then: Have a great evening!

I hadn’t heard about this GDPR until I ran into an old work colleague yesterday – now I keep seeing it.

I have fond memories of my time in Königswinter and though I was being exploited there I was very grateful for the job and pretty much became part of the family of the hotel where I slaved in the kitchen for 12 hours a day, six days a week.

I intend to have a music conversation with @roused at some point (I did have an exchange today but it was about a photography post). Strangely enough I connected with a couple of people from his magazine on LinkedIn yesterday (I’m building up to 500+, just because it helps with visibility on there): another case of when something is drawn to your attention you start noticing it. Maybe there’s a (partly age-determined?) bias among Steemians towards pop and stuff like gaming, at the expense of (say) history and classical music / jazz. That’s just wild speculation on my part, though.

I guess you sold on the way down to $200? As I say, I’m pretty new, but I think I’ve learned something about how the market moves. At the moment I’m trying to position myself to get some alts that should bring good returns if we do get a run at some point, intending to get partly out while have the correction so as to be able to re-enter lower down. Few things are certain, but one is that there are no straight lines in direction the price will take. Of course there’s risk in trying to time the reversals, but you don’t have to do it precisely and can afford to wait until trends have been well and truly confirmed. So much manipulation though.

If I could just get myself into a better position I would then do the sensible thing and get into the really solid coins that are likely to do well over the long term and hodl, while doing a little trading with my profits. The danger to my strategy for getting to that point is the possibility we will go back to below $4K and recover only very slowly, as people like Tyler Jenks and Financial Freedom (@nasirjones007) say we will. Why do the only ones who sound sure about what’s going to happen say we’re going very low at some point? That’s why you can’t go wrong with hodling I guess, because then you can safely say "et kütt wie et kütt.”

I’ll email that book stuff in the morning: you’ll find it in Pandora’s inbox :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99