Stencil Art: build-up of ‘Dolphin Girl’

in #art6 years ago (edited)

‘Dolphin Girl’

40 x 120 cm - 2016

Another one that took me a full month to make..

spray20final.jpg


-Cutting the stencils-


After making/printing the design I cut through it, moving it from layer to layer.
To make sure the positioning on the layers match I take the newly cut layer, position it on the fresh one and trace the insides of the cuts. This used to be very time-consuming, but I found a new method which saves me a huge amount of time (but that’s for another post, teaser!).

This is what a fresh layer looks like after tracing it:

cut01b.jpg

Which makes it easy to position the design:

cut01.jpg

Then I cut through both the design and the fresh layer:

cut02.jpg

Repeating the process:

cut03.jpg

Of course, I number the stencils.
As the first stencil I cut is the last one I’m using in the spraying-proces,
I mark it ‘Final’, giving the others a ‘F-1, F-2, …’-code.

cut03b.jpg

More cutting:

cut04.jpg

With a lot of colors I try to limit the number of stencils as much as I can (saves me a lot on paper). So during the cutting I mark down the different colors used, with a reference code to a list I made beforehand of all the colors I’m going to need:

cut02b.jpg

Almost done cutting, as you can see masking-tape is my friend (makes it easier to move the design to a new layer as one item, or it can get confusing):

cut05.jpg


-Spray painting the canvas-



Gathering the materials; Cans, caps, weights and the canvas:

spray01.jpg

And so it begins.
Notice the light spot in the dark blue part, that's one of my anchor-points.
I cut them in each stencil so I can perfectly position each following layer:

spray02.jpg

spray03.jpg

spray04.jpg

spray05.jpg

spray06.jpg

spray07.jpg

spray08.jpg

spray09.jpg

spray10.jpg

And the final result:

spray20final.jpg

I was very happy with how it turned out (and that it was finally done, haha).

Unfortunately two months later, 10 days before Christmas, a fire started in my neighbor’s kitchen which burned my whole apartment down. I lost exactly 20 works, including this one and am still waiting for (and if I even get) the insurance. So sad to say
this piece is lost forever, as are the stencils..

But don’t feel bad as there is plenty of art in the world!

And coming from street-art, I’m used to pieces disappearing.. 😜

Hope you enjoyed it!

😉 Take care of yourself.. and each other! 😉

Untitled-12.png

www.stencilart.be

Sort:  

really good :) i like it a lot

Thank you very much! 😄

I say it again, respect to the details of your art work! Keep it up AC @stencil.art ! Share your masterpiece to the world as you create your niche in the market place. ^^

Thanks so much! I'm trying, I'm trying.. 😄

@stencil.art ya more than welcome my alien friend ^^

Wow your process is so crazy intricate! I can't believe you do that intricate of cuts on that many layers. That is... frankly kind of insane :) All of the stencil artists I have seen seem to try hard to simplify things in their design and you are definitely not going that route!!! Love the finished product, shame this was lost in the fire. Thanks for sharing the process pics :)

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Haha , thank you! I wonder about my sanity a lot too while working! 😆

Hey @stencil.art, nice post! I've developed a better appreciation for art and photos, so it's nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @stencil.art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Good work! I'm adding you to the @ARTzONE voting list.

Cool, thanks!

Congratulations @stencil.art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

@stencil.art I am relatively new to Steemit and looking for someone to design me a Steemit signature graphic. Is that of any interest to you? You're clearly very talented. Of course, you'd receive credit for each post I publish.

Sure, I can make you something 👍 What would you like to include in it?

Thx a ton! And good question haha I post about Blockchain's growing culture and innovation by providing curated educational content, news stories, and various resources. Is that too broad to go off of? I have very little artistic ability, so it's hard for me to visualize designs.

I'll check your posts and figure something out 😉

you're the best! let me know if you have any questions. also, just realized we're both relatively new to Steemit. we can help each other grow. I think you're gonna do very well, especially given your recent post. Natural talent and I love for something usually goes a long way on this site. I'm excited to follow your art!

Thanks man! I'll think of some ideas today, but it might take a couple days to finish, working on a few things at once at the moment 😄

So, I just made a website (joshkumin.com). Do you know how to incorporate elements that people can click on? And no rush. appreciate your willingness :)

Welp, this is absolutely amazing. :} I'm saddened to hear about the fire though, even if there is a lot of other art in the world. :{

Thank you! (Mostly just trying to play it cool, haha 😉 been sad long enough about it)

wowowooo ¡¡¡!!!

dear friend predisposed this what you do is magic !!! :)
Never lose that essence and take good care of your cat ^^
regards <3

Hahaha thanks! Enjoy your day birthday girl! (or should I say old woman ;) haha) xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55