Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #154 'Eternity'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The name of this art photograph is: 'Eternity'

What is eternity? How does it manifest itself in our lives if at all? Do we really have a grasp of eternity, except as a mathematical concept of infinity? I don't think we do. Nothing lasts forever. That much we know. We might perceive something as "forever" in our short existence and only believe in something so great as eternity without ever being able to prove it or experience it.

Ouroboros (a snake swallowing its own tail) is an Ancient Egyptian symbol for eternity, later adopted in mathematics as a symbol of infinity. When I noticed it right there in front of my feet, I took it as a sign of something really good that will come to be and therefore took this photo. Yes, I found this motif, I didn't set it up. Apart from the infinity symbol itself, the idea of eternity is augmented by strong linear perspective. Two dark lines appear like a road without an end. Tonal perspective also plays its part - the foreground is darkened and the background is lit.

Thin yellow accent on the otherwise quite colourless photograph does its magic. It beams the symbol right out of the dark part and as if almost sticks it to the lens. The strongest colour contrast (black and yellow) serves that purpose well. If the rubber band was any thicker, there would be too much yellow in the composition. Pay attention to the overall surface structure which is also quite important for the dynamics of this piece.

Can you feel that the right side of this image is "heavier" than the left one? This happens because the top left triangle is more lit than the top right one. Bet you didn't notice this before I told you, did you? :)

Wait a minute! Isn't this the direction to where STEEM is heading?
:D

Enjoy! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovacic All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Oh. Cool. Thanks for your sharing.

@velimer Sir!

This is the most interesting introduction of infinity sign i got today. As i am a teacher by profession and none has briefed INFINITY sign in such comprehensive way. This is such an amazing and worth reading post for everyone.
Although i am new here but i love such things which can enhance the knowledge of others especially the students. I am new comer here and it is my #First ever comment on your post.

Hope so you would not mind it if i share this beautiful blog with my students.

Such things should be appreciated and must be shared that's why i am #Resteeming it as well

Lots of love and Best wishes for you @velimir Sir !

To the contrary of the general direction, I really appreciate teachers and admire their job. I regard it the most important job in the world because you raise awareness and create thoughts of the ones who will inherit this world. :) Thank you for your nice comment and I'll be honoured to have my blog shared with your students.

All best to you as well!

Thanks a lot for your beautiful and encouraging response @velimir Sir !

INTERESTING IDEA for an ETERNITY SYMBOL

Photography is definetely an amazing way to express your art!

So, relating to your post, is time itself eternal? Or are both simply constructs of the human brain?

@velimir man u are always great...always good post's..amazing..
Love your blog..!

That is an eternal question, isn't it? :) Depends on the perspective, I guess. If its measurable then it has an end, so it cannot be eternal, right? If it's not measurable, then its incomprehensible to feeble human minds. A conundrum, really...

Maybe time differs from our way of measuring though? If it even does exist. Because if it is not eternal, there must be a... time... before time right? Or something before time. And something after time? Would that be nothing?
If you ask me "nothingness" is even harder to comprehend than eternity/ infinity :P

That one I would portray as a blank white square ;-)
Cheers!

I actually knew a photographer who was tasked with photographing "nothing". So he went to a morgue, where they had removed every organ from a dead body. The chest was still open, as they had just removed the organs. So he photographed inside the hollow chest. The resulting photograph was completely black, but that was his interpretation of nothingness

@emilclaudell time isn't eternal, it just outlives our collective intelligence as a species.

But would that mean that time is exclusively tied to our perception of time? Doesn't time exist without humans?
So is it rather our perception of time that is not eternal, or is it actually time itself? And if so, what comes after time ends?

There are many philosophies that can explain this. The one I agree with the most is that of a loop. It's a circle. It has no end or beginning, but also, it has no finite length. Now one might argue that the circumference of a circle can be quantified, but well that comes from our assumption of "units". And these "units" make all the difference.

Keep zooming in on a line and it keeps getting bigger. As soon as there is a gap between two points, there is another point to fill that gap, as a line by definition is a collection of points adjacent to each other. Don't think too hard about the meaning of adjacent, language's affect on perception is a different ball game altogether.
A circle is no different, its simply a curved line.

Now how much you wanna "zoom" defines the speed at which you process and hence perceive things. Think of it this way. Say you're in a garden. And it's the fall season. And say you've never experienced falling leaves before. You'll notice some leaves reach the ground sooner than other ones. And as soon as the fastest leaf hits the ground, that completes your first experience of watching a leaf fall. Say it had been a different leaf, a different tree, and you would've taken longer to complete that experience. Sure, you may notice something different about a slower leaf, perhaps its trajectory, perhaps its rotation, but that is exactly the point. Its about what you focus on. It's how you make up your own "units".

Time is independent of all species. Because all species have a different version of time. Even different people have different versions of time but that is again a different topic. Time will never end, because it never began. Because in order to begin, there needs to be an event or a process that triggers it. Any process has inputs and outputs. So what were the inputs of the first process ever? If you say "nothing" well then how did you work on "nothing" to create "something"? That contradicts the very assumption of start, end and processes.

It's misleading to say that time "was" or that time "will be". Time simply is. And we are here to experience it in our own unique, small way.

in one of my latest pictures, i reflect on this very topic.... I called it "Times capsules" and the idea is that some moments are, indeed, eternal... Please check it out and give me some support if you like it :) Ill reallly appreciate it! https://steemit.com/photography/@albertoyago/my-art-photography-barcelona-time-capsules

Ok, i would say that the most interesting and moving thing about this photo are that two lines heading towards the tip of triangle (in imagination) but the infinity sign is saying something oposite. There is no end. And it is yellow - colour of madness and warning. There is no such a thing as const, maybe when you are dead! ;) For me scary and exciting at the same time.

Very nice perspective! I like your thoughts a lot! :)

i think this is really beautiful photo!

How great, congratulations for that picture. I just uploaded a photograph in my profile of my author, I take photographs either with a professional camera or with the camera of a cell phone, the important thing for me, is to show that moment, the moment of that something or beauty that can capture my eyes. Greetings and feel free to follow me. Greetings.

true my friend, it is not about the tools, it is about the man who works them!

@velimir
Nothing lasts forever, very true! All the matter present on earth is waves and energy which just changes from one form to another. Energy and waves are eternal, but not the matter formed from these. My opinion :)

in one of my latest pictures, i reflect on this very topic.... I called it "Times capsules" and the idea is that some moments are, indeed, eternal... Please check it out and give me some support if you like it :) Ill reallly appreciate it! https://steemit.com/photography/@albertoyago/my-art-photography-barcelona-time-capsules

When I think about it the infinity sign is such a cool symbol because it truly goes on forever when you trace it! How interesting that you stumbled upon such a normal object and connected it to this!

Thank you this picture is really nice.. normally you just walked past it.. now it has a story.. I made this one some weeks ago with my mobile...

Why: two is stronger then one.. It's like adsactly

great pic mate! Love it! I made also this one while I was in Barcelona....I hope you like the concept...

barcelona-pompas-color.jpg

Who said photography is not a work of art? This is digital art. Bravo.

@greenrun
Well said! Liked it :)

Soo glad you guys appreciate my work! :)

It's worth it.

I completely agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70