Watercolors & pencil sketches

in #art6 years ago (edited)


After entering in @jungwatercolor’s BeLikeWatercolor contest, it’s inspired me to continue to play with traditional tools. I’m actually having a hard time sticking to one project. Shoutout to @jungwatercolor and @semipermeabile for coming up with such a fantastic contest. They’ve got a new theme for the week which is “Flower Power” so be sure to check it out and join in on the fun!

I’m trying to get myself to use up all the extra paper that I cut up.

Two days ago I found myself feeling restless so I started sketching something random. The finger in this image looks really funny but it doesn’t bother me too much. It’s all practice anyway. 

I started mixing in colors and then building it up. I got to a point in the last image where I felt like I took it too far. I was too heavy handed. Next time I’ll try something new by painting on a background and then sketching on top. I’m planning on experimenting with watercolors more. I’ve seen a lot of really cool techniques for watercolor but I want to take my time to get to know myself while working with this specific medium. 

In the first image you’ll see that I had a lot of fun sketching a feline looking girl and a hand study. I didn’t have the heart to paint over the sketches in fear that I’d ruin them. I might start carrying a little sketchbook with me for the days when I miss my real pencil. 

Tonight I’m going to be working on a sculpture that I started last night. I may do another post later to share what I’ve gotten done so far. 


Thanks for stopping by to check out my work!

How’s your day? 🦊

Sort:  

You made my day!!! There is no better life fuel for me than to see that I moved someone in creative way, and when i see how good it's going than I can only smile all day long @vermillionfox :) And to inform you that I am joining two more Stemians @jnart and @marty-arts in making water-art project. We are going to make tutorials about watercolors. Even I decided to make short video tutorials :)

Aww, well I’m glad to hear that I was able to give you such joy! I think I saw that you were collaborating with others to share watercolor tutorials. I’ll have to check those out!

I love the idea of these postcard size artworks (but I am biased towards anything that is miniaturized)! I was even thinking about the idea of different artists swapping their artworks so that we can not only see them on Steemit but also in real life (by just putting a stamp on the back of it) :)

I’m there with you. Anything miniature is up my alley! I heard that some artists were displaying work at steemfest. Does that count as art on real life?

Definitely! I am trying to do whatever I can to encourage Steemit artist to be engaged with the wider public so their work is not just seen here :) In this example I used @fabiyamada's artwork as my desktop wall paper:


https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@fabiyamada/steem-002-android-cryptoart-creative-commons-and-other-cryptocurrencies-eos-btc-bts

Are you on any of the artist Discord channels? I just found one the other day by @steemartists: https://discord.gg/cUMHUMv

Oh, I’m already on steemartists.

I was looking for your name on the Discord channel but didn't see it :p Perhaps I need to check my eyesight :D

I don’t chat too often because I’m always caught in the middle of something.

Watercolors are so much fun... most of the time. I think I like making a sketch pass in watercolors and then solidifying everything in gouache paints personally. I can't get a handle on straight up watercolors yet.

This is great though.

Hahaha...they’re fun until you mess up. I’m thinking of doing more quick sketches in pencil with watercolor. I felt inspired after seeing a video of someone doing a wash of color over their nude studies. Oh and your school work has also been a source of inspiration for me!

I am following the WATER ART project started by some of my favourite water colour painters on Steemit (@jungwatercolor and @marty-arts, and also @jnart):
https://steemit.com/art/@marty-arts/water-art-project-learn-watercolor-painting-with-us

I guess even if I don't learn anything it is amazing to see all their work published in the one place!

I find watercolors take a lot of experimenting before finding a technique that works for you. Looks good tho! Excited to see more.

Thanks! Yeah. I’ve seen people who do lots of layering and that seems like the direction I’m going but then I crave for more simplicity.

Gradually you will be good..
I know The sculpture will look beautiful more than this

Thank you for your kind words! My sculpture is still a work in progress so who knows what it will become. I’ll be sharing the images soon.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Oh i feel you!
I absolutely can't sit still on a project for too long, i sit for an hour on a piece then my body urges me to start something new immediately

After sculpting with clay then I felt like sewing a garment! Hahahha! I’m glad you understand. So far digital art is the only thing that keeps me around long enough to finish.

Watercolor is my favorite way to relax, and I have several weeks that do nothing with watercolor... are very interesting and beautiful your sketches: 3

Thank you so much! I also find watercolors to be soothing. I like to watch the water spread and see how the color saturation of the paints transform.

I like that you were building with lots of different colors. It looks like a lot of fun. It's nice to have some small pieces of paper to just play around with, and not take too seriously, especially when you're just sort of trying to get comfortable with a new medium.
If you're using a heavy watercolor paper, sometimes you can go back and "scrub" off a bit of the paint, in areas that you feel are a bit too heavy-handed. But you have to be careful, or you'll scrub away the paper! lol (Not that I've ever done that...... 🙄)

That’s funny that you mentioned ‘scrubbing off’ paint because I’ve done that before. I did have thick watercolor paper but it looks like I’ve misplaced it after a project. :/ It’s on my list of things to purchase but I haven’t made it a huge priority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59