When everything goes Giraffe

in #art6 years ago

Sometimes you just gotta stop up, take a big breather, and reconsider life from inside to the outside. It could be when you eat that extra extremely delicious-looking piece of pie that you know ain't good for you at all or when you find yourself getting exhausted just from walking to the bakery to get the before mentioned pie - or maybe when you sit at 1 am trying to come up with something clever to write on steemit cause your productivity sucks and you might have given up but not completely (or at least you don't want to admit it to yourself and the world around you) but you really really want to turn it around because giving up is a lifelong trend that you are getting really tired of heavy breathing in

I would have done that if any of the above applied to me, but I'm cool so that's why I'll present this awesome giraffe to you instead!

giraffe.jpg
acryllic paints on bulletin board of unknown origin

I have a weakness for painting giraffes anywhere and anyhow, I can't tell you where it originated from or how and I'm not even that good at it, but there is just something about painting and drawing giraffes that soothes my artistic and occasionally lightly autistic soul (no offence to people with real autism, I'm not trying to appropriating your diagnose, you are all awesome)
At my previous work in a kindergarten one of my co-workers had a similar adoration for giraffes, and one day while we were hiding inside at the playground to avoid the pesky kids we had sent outside, she asked in jest if I couldn't do anything about our old worn-down bulletin board, like, maybe draw a giraffe on it or something. It's always challenging to draw in a format you aren't used to (at least for me, I find it really hard to scale something up) and my first few sketches on the board looked more like mutants that actual animals.
Finally I got the hang of it, even though the legs still looks a bit weird, and a few days later our giraffe board was born and the kids quickly named him "George" (there was a wide agreement the giraffe was male for reasons only kids can understand).

Here is a picture to give a better idea of the size of the painting for those of you who are curious and have read this far.

giraffe2.jpg

Draw some giraffes and stay awesome you all and send me some positive thoughts while I go and hug my pillows and blanket.


giraffe meme stolen from here

wanderingdanish banner2.jpg
All content is my own
Except the giraffe meme
I need more memes
Send me memes

Sort:  

Maybe a giraffe is your spirit animal and it is the way for it to reach out and try to talk to you when you are feeling down, happy or whatever emotional spectrum you are in.

Wolf is mine and when I am feeling down I look at pictures of wolves and somehow I feel that I am drawing from the pack energy if it makes sense.

I can't draw to save my life so I make do with looking at photos.

Stepping away a bit at times is good to gain some equilibrium and reenergize yourself.

Hehe yeah that could be it, my spirit animal.. Never really thought about having a spirit animal, except for when I was a kid and wanted to be like some anime characters. One thing is for sure, giraffes are awesome creatures :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60