You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ebb and Flow: a sculpture on the theme of water conservation.

in #artzone6 years ago

It also makes me think of the Norns (Nornir) that feed the world tree Yggdrasil. About the Norns from Wikipedia:
In Snorri Sturluson's interpretation of the Völuspá, Urðr (Wyrd), Verðandi and Skuld, the three most important of the Norns, come out from a hall standing at the Well of Urðr or Well of Fate. They draw water from the well and take sand that lies around it, which they pour over Yggdrasill so that its branches will not rot.

Sort:  

It is a lovely legend. I found this depiction of Yggdrasil:yggdrasil.jpg

I searched forever to find a old color pencil drawing of mine, not on the computer, not on line. Eventually, at the bottom of a drawer, I found a slide. So I scanned it.PICT0038-YGGDRASIL-slide-scan-ps2-good-1600web.jpg
I am now thinking that I would want to paint it like that, but with a updated self-portrait. My signature painting is from the same time period, and I am starting to fancy that style again, which initially was inspired by Rudolf Hausner.

I really like this style - and I love trees...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84