You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I refuse to be a robot

in #asapers6 years ago

Strangely enough not doing anything can spark new ideas and new creativity. As I'm sure you have experienced!
I forget the exact quote but it's something about how music, without the rests between notes, would just be noise.

Sort:  

it's so true. Doing nothing, is sometimes the most productive time.. doesn't make sense to the mind... "slow down to speed up"... but i agree fully with you.

there's a cool analogy with the little puppy who is so excited about you coming home. And it tries to run forward on the kitchen floor. But it runs so fast that it stays at the same place... Only a wise "experienced" dog knows that if he's making one step after another, without haste he is actually getting somewhere :)))

I don't even know if that made sense.. I hope it did! haha

Yes it makes sense - I've been that puppy!
Oh, and here's another one - to shoot an arrow it has to be pulled back before it goes forward.
Looks like a lot of creative people have experienced it!

oh yess! I like this one even better!! I experience it just now again. I'm in a period of study and see that while learning my results are quiet worse than before... i guess that's the adjustment phase of learning something new... I HOPE!!! :))

Well...there's beginner's luck! But mostly for me there's fail and frustration - too much aiming for perfection.
I took a pottery class and just knew I'd be brilliant at it! I wasn't but still I was so proud of my work. Now when I look at it I see sad and lumpy pots.
In sewing and needlework there is what they call the "Frog Stitch" - "Rippit, rippit, rippet" - meaning undoing your stitches when you notice you've made a mistake. :-)
But I think (hope) it's part of the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78