AskSteem: How would you describe Steem in your own words?

in #asksteem5 years ago

So there were some discussions earlier about how to present Steem in an elevator pitch, although that already means you have to compress a lot of things into a short time period which would be a really difficult thing since there is so much going on here. The question did make me wonder how people see Steem in general though.

I understand many who are here may be experiencing blockchain tech for the first time and even if many probably never find the time to take the extra step to find out why this technology is so important in this day and age and what the real differences are.

I wanted to make a post asking my followers how they would explain Steem to someone they know in their own words. If you feel uncomfortable with some parts about it thinking you don't know well enough you don't have to force it out of you but do understand that no one is going to judge you. Many who have been here for longer have gone through the same thing and over time it has only gotten more and more complicated while trying to keep the main point of it as simple as possible. As I said many may not even have dug deeper into it and have gotten comfortable with the way things work now and how they are evolving to bother looking as to why it works and that's fine, that means Steem is working way better than most other blockchains at allowing that to be the case.

With account creation being made easier and easier and more and more different accounts at the right stake being able to claim free accounts daily it is going to be a very interesting time to see the growth of Steem over the next couple years in users. So many new people we will have to teach and answer questions to reminding us of how difficult things seemed in the beginning before we got into it.

AskSteem: How would you describe Steem in your own words to a friend you want to invite?

Sort:  

I describe Steemit as "a social media platform where the participants are rewarded instead of a hosting company"

I describe Steem as "a high-performance public blockchain that supports one of the largest social media sites where the participants are rewarded instead of a hosting company"

Yes, of course there is more to the story, more usages, etc. But elevator pitches must be in terms the audience understands and appreciates, so they want to ask more.

Well, I have done this many times already. Not all are interested to hear but there are moments when one listens to my raving of it. I say, "It's like Facebook on a more intelligent level. It is my bank, side business, retirement fund, and wonderful social media that grant variety almost in a limitless way. I tell them that it has converted the centralized apps we all use on the daily, into a Decentralized platform and income and livelyhood that creates a structure of oneself as a resume for the rest of ones life.

Wow, that was actually really well put. Nice!

Steem can be whatever you make of it as there is very little limitation on what can be created upon it. In time it could become a developer's playground, a user's business and a consumer's go to source for information and entertainment. What is the best part is that at all levels an individual can invest in various ways and own a piece of the network itself and enable others to get a piece of real estate for themselves.

  • To me, #steem is a creative platform that allows its users an enabling environment to mine their (users) creativity.
  • A platform where everyone can share their content despite their literacy level, yet, still get rewarded.
  • A platform where fun and friends bring financial joy.
  • A platform where financial value is attached to the meanest of centent in as much as its unique (not copied).
  • A social blogging platform with least need for IT talent. You can just share what you can - video, text, photo..

Steem is a place where one can put money in to control inflation.

It seeks to be a place where users can work for tips. (POB)

Steem is a republic. We elect and trust witnesses for security.

DPOS is the only system with account recovery.

I might come up with a more thought-out reply later on, but I still like how I described it in my tweet to Bittrex:

An attention economy that works so well people can't stop bitching at each other about it.

Sign up and I'll give you 30 cents a day for writing a comment on my post.

That actually worked for a few people, then they left 🤷

I've tried different approaches, depending on the background of the person i'm talking to.

Stuff that sweat-coin app, there's one on Steem and I can pay you way more on my own!

Blockchain is the future, it's going to disrupt everything! (with video included).

It is hard going, even with constant hand-holding. I'll try again next month when I move to a place there are actually people :)

Moving! So, the inevitable is happening :) hope your bones have cracked back into place! It is tricky to describe Steem! I'd love a way to explain it that was more relatable. Personally, it's intuitive! Easy to see the future and the benefits of blockchain -- especially Steem. But, tricky to put it into words for ppl who are comfortable in their structured mundane (slavelike robotic illserving but they dont even know it they actually can not see the fruit for the trees ---but maybe i have it all wrong-- who knows haha) life.

Yes I am :) (tough to find replies today isn't it with Steemworld seemingly not doing the business!)

I think you have to explain things on almost a person by person basis, depending on tech knowledge, interests, etc, so you can focus your pitch on something that turns a light on for them. It's tough going though for sure!

Steemit: Come for the interactions/community, stay for the drama/popcorn. Oh, and make some cryptocurrency or something...

I've told them it's a blockchain which is mostly used for different social media platforms like a blogging platform and something for photos, videos etc. and at best you might be able to earn a little bit while doing something you enjoy without censorship.

Haven't worked so far. I don't want to share my identity on Steem for most people and the ones I'm sharing it with are mostly less social people.

I saw it described as "like reddit, but with money voting." That was enough to peak my interest and I signed up the same day. (Nov. 2017)

Today I suppose it might be more accurate to update that to something like...

" reddit, but with money voting plus games and apps which you can earn money while playing."

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65