You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Steem really have that bad of a shit posting problem?

in #asksteem5 years ago

Been here a while and still not sure what exactly constitutes a shitpost. Honestly? I mostly see people using it as a sort of self-deprecation.

Sometimes they do it to be funny. Sometimes they do it because they know their post is low-effort and they feel that they need to make an excuse for it. But the one that is most annoying to me is when someone writes a decent, moderate-to-high-effort opinion piece or rant and passes it off as a "shitpost."

Discussion is valuable content. If your post has three or four paragraphs of you ranting on something, it's not a shitpost... it's just a post.

Sort:  

Well, I personally see more shit comments lately...but that's because I don't go to trending anymore. :P

Some of my rants are good discussions...other ones rely on people to interact to get somewhere...and that usually doesn't happen. Me ranting about how I uninstalled an anti-virus on my phone is kinda a shit post...but it also strikes on a few important issues, like companies inundating you with alerts because they have no respect for your time, or severely low quality products that likely don't actually protect you very well. But the level of shit posts I do is not the same as some others. I don't know if it would even be possible for me to shit post as well as some people do. Plus, after I'd have to buy some upvotes on it to get it to trending.

There are all sorts of levels...there are fertilizer posts that can grow you flowers...and there's concentrated human refuse taken from municipalities. Sometimes they're so bad that the neighbors start to complain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77