CHOCOLATE ORANGE FLAPJACK RECIPE

in #baking6 years ago (edited)

Zesty, chocolately goodness - Flapjack Edition

Hey steemians, happy Friday!

I don’t know about you, but I think flapjacks are heavenly! They’re easy and quick to make and always taste delicious. So, I thought I’d share my recipe for my zesty Chocolate Orange Flapjacks, as they’re too good for others not to enjoy! Plus, it’s Friday and they’re the perfect treat to get you in the mood for the weekend!

This recipe is one from my chalet days, so after five months of making these, I like to think I’ve perfected them. But you don’t need months of practise to make them, as this recipe will always guarantee you yummy flapjack success and requires minimal washing up…my kind of baking! ;)

Ingredients:


Only six ingredients required

250g Butter

180g Caramel 

180g Brown Sugar 

350g Oats

Zest of 1 Orange

50g Plain Chocolate

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a medium sized baking tray with baking parchment. Scrunch up the parchment first as it is then easier to manipulate and splash the tray with water or coat in a bit of butter to get the parchment to stick. Push it right into the corners.

2. Using a large saucepan; combine the butter, sugar and caramel and place on a medium heat. 

3. Help the mixture to melt but stirring occasionally, ensuring it is not too hot and doesn’t burn the bottom of the pan. 

4. Once all three ingredients have melted down and formed a silky mixture, take it off the heat.

5. Add in the oats and orange zest and begin mixing all the ingredients together, until every oat flake is coated in sugary, buttery goodness. 

6. Transfer the oat mixture to the lined baking tray and, using the back of a metal spoon, even out the mixture, getting right into the corners of the tray.

7. Place into the oven for about 20 minutes, or until the flapjack mixture is golden on top, then remove.

8. Once out of the oven and cooling, the mixture will begin to harden. Use a sharp knife to mark the size and shape of the flapjack slice you want, pressing into the mixture slightly.

9. As the flapjacks are cooling, begin melting the chocolate. You can either melt it in the microwave but keep an eye on it, or you can melt it in a bowl over some hot water – the latter is more reliable if you want a glossy finish to it.

10. Next cut your flapjacks to your desired slices and drizzle or coat the flapjacks with the chocolate.

It depends how desperate you are to eat them, but these flapjacks don’t last long in my house and are often eaten warm. If you don’t manage to eat them in one sitting, they will last for a couple of days if placed into some Tupperware. Or you can package them up and share them with friends.

Let me know if you give it a try. Trust me, you’ll want to!

Els x



Sort:  

What a recipe, that looks amazing! Great job step by step

Glad you like it @diezeldiddy! Thanks very much!

I want it 🤤 if only you are my neighbour, I will rush into your door now 😂, thank you Ellie, I will keep the recipe, once I have the ingredients, I will make it and show you the result too, perhaps after Ied Fitr.
Anyway, will it still be called flapjack if I change the orange zest with cinnamon powder?

Thanks for sharing and let me know about this recipe @elstheardentblog 🤗

Haha, even then you might have been too late - my family demolished them within seconds! Yes please, let me know how they turn out! yeah they will still be flapjacks and that's a great combo too! Good luck! :)

😅 Hahahaha it's remind me to my family too, my parents and siblings lived apart from me now. I tried to make a homemade pizza once, nothing left when I returned from the kitchen to switch off the stove 😁, so happy when we knew that they love to eat that.
Thank you Ellie 👋

Haha, yes you have to be quick, don't you Cici?! It's very much an "eat it while it's there" motto in our house!

Hahahaha, you know what a funny fact about it? No matter how much they eat, they'll never gain more weight, why? Because we laugh as much as we eat too.

Haha what a great way to live!!

These were so delicious! Can't wait for the next batch. Love the photos too x

I could have eaten them all to myself - I will definitely be making some more. Thanks sis @joham x

Hurry up and make some more please! x

Hahaha, well I've got that other half of the caramel that needs using up! ;)

Looks very delicious xD I like how you posted many pictures showing step by step on how it is done. Great work! :D I am sure many people who reads this will find this very useful! :)

Thanks very much @denoxblogger Yeah I enjoyed photographing each stage and hope it is useful for others. I just really love this recipe and wanted to share it!

Oh my god, this looks INSANE. You should join 'Curie' on Discord and post in 'post promotion'. Your layout and contest is exceptional and they love recipes. #curie

Ah okay brill, I'll look into that. Need to get myself on Discord it seems!

Very happy to see you got curied ;-) Fabulous work, my girl!

Eeee thanksssss and thanks for all your help! :)

That looks perfect i have all the ingredients in hand i'll give it try as soon as possible, keep good work my dear and have a nice day

Oh fab, that's lucky! Cool, let me know how it goes, and how long they last ;) Thanks, have a great day too!

An absolute Corker of a sweet treat. Love flapjacks they remind me of my childhood. I had a similar recipe but I use golden syrup to bind the mixture. I've never used caramel before but will certainly be trying this with the kids. Such an easy recipe thanks for sharing. I've booked marked this recipe. Could do with a slice now.👍♥️👌

They are very moreish, if I do say so myself! Let me know how your attempt goes please :) Yes, so could I, they're dangerous like that!

looks really good! i have never made flapjacks before but i love them! yummy!!

Ellie has been following you for ages on Instagram etc! :-)

I may be biased, but they're pretty yummy, and I think these were possibly my best batch yet! Honestly, you have to try them, I think you'd love them! Plus, by using some healthier alternatives, they'd be great as a post workout snack.

Congratulations @elstheardentblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks delicious!! And I love your packaging and label 💗

Aw great, thanks! Cute, right? It was a gift, which I need to make more use of :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37