Beautiful Sunday: A Trip to Poe Springs

If you read my other post for today you know that I went on one of my Sassy Gal Adventures this morning and travelled to Poe Springs.

The park was very isolated at first. There is a wooden boardwalk that takes you down to the spring. I thought I was the only person.

Poe Springs-0983.jpg

Sometimes that feels creepy in some places when you are walking alone. But I'm always aware of my surroundings and ready for a fight so that I'm not that girl who ends up on the news. This is not my first rodeo.

However, if I ran across any black bears, bobcats and Florida Panthers native to that area I'd probably be screwed. Then I WOULD end up on the news!

(What is this obsession with NOT being a subject on the news? Well IMO it's mostly hype and sensationalism and stories about people in Florida doing stupid sh#t!)

Anyway, when I am alone there is no one with me (duh!) who runs slower that the predator could attack first while I flee.

(That's a joke my Dad likes to say. He likes to kid that I take HIM with me on adventures sometimes because I KNOW I can outrun him if we come across a predator. He's funny. But the fact that I could outrun him is true).

When I got down to the springs area there were only 4 gentlemen. One was a lone snorkeler in the spring and there were also 3 dudes just chit chatting on the bank.

Poe Springs-1002.jpg

I walked around a bit. The spring basin is a branch of the Santa Fe River and I could view both from the area.

I didn't go in the water though I wore my bathing suit under my tank top and shorts in case I felt the inclination to swim. This morning I did not.

Poe Springs-0994.jpg

After checking it out, I walked back to the parking area via the boardwalk. I saw a lot of hurricane damage still. The park was previously closed due to the damage and flooding the area endured.

Poe Springs-0990.jpg

I encountered a few more people on the way back, maybe half a dozen, no one worth photographing except the shadow of myself.

Poe Springs-1012.jpg

I actually haven't taken any portraits in a while, "like" for quite a while...

My photography business has not been booming mostly because I have not had the inclination to grow it. My specialty is kiddos. I love to get down on their level, have fun with them and capture them at play. It's almost like I have writer's block.

My new job is actually quite supportive of me growing that line of business. Everyone there has a side hustle and I have access to a lot of potential clients. I need to get past whatever creative block is holding me back. Because everyone likes to make bank and I have places to go!

I'll get my head right soon enough for sure. Everything happens in its own time.

In the meantime, my camera's primary focus has been capturing the beauty of the world. I hope you enjoy.

Poe Springs-0986.jpg

Happy Sunday!

Please upvote and resteem if you enjoyed this post! ;-)

Check out my challenges: #TesticleTuesday, #CrappyDay and my newest FUN #RevelationSunday where you get to #introduceyourself AGAIN to your fellow Steemians!

Follow me @unicornquiffe for more posts and my Sassy Gal Adventures series!

Photos captured with a Canon EOS T3 Rebel using a 28-135mm lens.
(no editing)

All rights reserved. ©2018.

This is my entry for today's #beautifulsunday initiated by @ace107

Sort:  

Beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko iOS

I appreciate you checking them out. I see you are very active on Steemit and have made some great posts and photos. Thanks for sharing with us!

Great Sunday read @unicornquiffe

Love (and partially agree with) "mostly hype and sensationalism and stories about people in Florida doing stupid sh#t!" however, I often do solo trips that find me in a situation I didn't plan for (and probably still wouldn't - because you just don't) that's made some pretty memorable scares :)

Keep Steeming!

I went on a solo trip to Ichetuknee Springs (I think it was) and heard a gator coming toward me (it was mating season, I wasn't taking any chances after I heard that unmistakable grunt close...and getting closer) . I took off my flip flops off (being a FL girl I go hiking, pretty much anywhere, in flip flops though I should know better) and walked silently away in a non-aggressive manner. So yes, scary sh---tuff sometimes happens for sure!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by unicornquiffe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The water looks nice and clear. Very inviting. You should have at least step in . :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74