You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jupiler

in #beer6 years ago

Great notes about serving beer at the right temperature in a clean glass with a nice amount of head/foam.

It's not as much of a problem in continental Europe but in the US and the UK I would add don't serve beer in a shaker pint glass.


And now my rant ...

AB-InBev makes this beer. Aftrer I joined Steemit, I quickly realized that there are a lot of beer enthusiasts who are unaware of the negative effects that AB-InBev and other, but not all, corporate brewers have on small independent brewers.

AB-InBev is destructive to the traditional/craft beer scene in Belgium as well as the United States and the rest of the world. Do you remember when Hoegaarden was a traditional witbeir with a lot of flavor? Sure, AB-InBev "saved" the brewery but at what cost? It's now a watered down version of the original and now with terrible artificial fruit flavors. Leffe? Also InBev. And it purposefully confuses consumers into thinking it is a small traditional Abbey brewery when it's not.

I absolutely love Belgian-style beers but Jupiler, in my mind, is the antithesis of the wonderful, amazing beers that small independent Belgian brewers make.

Anyway, sorry for the rant. I just have this desire to educate the world about the "horrors" of AB-InBev, MillerCoors, Kirin, and Heineken.

Sort:  

I have seen some breweries still flourish and deliver some goodies despite a buyout, but for the most part I agree. Another Belgian beer, Stella Artois, used to be one of my favorite beers. After the buyout, Idk..the same flavor just is not there anymore.

It's not just the flavors of the beer, it's also the unfair, predatory business practices, pushing other brands out of stores, illegal kickbacks, and lobbying for unfair laws to prevent smaller, independent brewers from being successful.

I agree. While I have seen Goose Island bought out but continue to provide some of the finest BA stouts, I know a lot of brewers victimized by Big Beer practices. Increased resources is a competitive advantage that is inherent with a capitalist infrastructure, but when money is being used to stall and prevent the success of smaller breweries, I think it works against the overall progress of beer. Every company should just focus on making their product the best and building their own business instead of trying to squash others down. After all, people want the best beer, and getting rid of the best brewers to be competitive can really just hurt everyone in the long run.

Preach! 🙌🍻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49