You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Packing up the bee homes for the season

in #bees5 years ago

I hope they like to play football!

So the bees lie dormant in those containers? Those containers have holes for air right? Or do they need it? Apologies if that's a dumb question.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@eonwarped Haha, classic garage picture with a deflated football inside. Yes they are dormant, bees laid eggs in the tubes during the early spring.. sealed off the holes with mud and a larva starts growing inside.

Hmm not sure if they need more air.. insects dont need to need much air and since they are in those tubes I think a loosely fitting box will give them enough.. I guess I'll learn a hard lesson if they dont emerge next year as this is the first time I've boxed them up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67