You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @berniesanders vs. @haejin: 481 Accounts That Only Vote For @haejin - A blockchain investigation

in #berniesanders6 years ago

Some users are claiming that they are only here because of haejin - but that just begs the question. Do we want Steemit users that don't engage with the community? Are those users valuable? Is a Facebook account that is only friends with one person useful? I'd say no. It's great if haejin is driving new users to the site, but if the users don't contribute outside of upvoting him, then not so much.

Sort:  

When people say "I'm only here because of haejin," that doesn't necessarily mean that they're not interested in being an active participant. It could mean that they would have never would have bothered learning anything about steemit if haejin hadn't introduced them to the platform.

I think a greater risk is alienating all the new users who initially came to steemit because of haejin (or whoever's on some whale's shitlist this week). I've been here a little over 2 months and I've had quite a few poor experiences because people look down on new users so much. I was banned from the @SPL because someone thinks I'm colluding to screw them out of money, I've seen massive amounts of unwarranted censorship of new users by whales for expressing an opinion civilly, rampant bullying, botnets used to decimate the reps of new users for no good reason, and generally a huge amount of hate and drama around the choices that new users make regarding who they upvote or support.

It definitely takes a long time to get some traction here as a new user and it's a painful and intimidating process. I would love to express my opinion regarding some of the abuse I see on here, but fear of retribution keeps me from participating in that part of the community.

Until steemit starts making new users feel like valued members of the community, new users aren't going to expend the effort to be a meaningful part of the community. If these issues aren't addressed, there's going to be a huge amount of attrition from users who show up and immediately leave with a bad taste in their mouth, which will be much to the detriment of the community in the long run.

I agree, it's nice to have more people on the site, but if they aren't actually interacting other than upvoting him, what's the point? Also, I find it unlikely they are new people. Legitimate new people would have signed up through the Steemit channel, and been given delegation power. No one who is legitimately new would go through the trouble of buying steem on an exchange and setting up their account manually on the blockchain. Why would you?

reidlist, I for one am fairly new, having come to steemit to follow haejin's posts at the recommendation of a good friend. I am exceedingly happy that I've done so as his technical analysis has profited me thousands of dollars. I've since followed a few other posters who post along similar lines as haejin.

With regard to Steemit, I still have absolutely no idea as to the workings of this website, nor am I inclined to dig into them having a limited amount of time during the day.

Just wanted to let you know that there is at least one individual here simply to follow haejin.

Regards,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92