May Basket Day

in #bethane6 years ago (edited)

May 1st, a forgotten tradition from my childhood called May Basket Day.

The season where the wonders of Spring were not only awakening nature into blossoming but encouraging the romantic feelings of youth.

I’m sure no one in my little village knew May 1st was the Gaelic festival of Bethane.

But May 1st was celebrated - not with a bonfire or dancing around the Maypole but in a tradition where a basket containing candy was secretly left at the door of someone you fancied.

There might be pretty flowers on the top of the basket but candy would be left underneath the flowers.


30A47F58-43C0-49E1-BE00-8FC18ADE2C29.jpeg
source


Handful Of Candy In May Basket

9212D6D2-CC63-4E36-8821-C48B8E460B05.jpeg
source



My first memory of the May Basket tradition was when I was about thirteen and a knock came to my parents door. I opened it to see a little basket filled with candy hanging on the outside doorknob.

It was a common custom on the evening of May 1 to leave a May Basket on the door of someone you had a crush on.

The suitor would come quietly to the door of your home, hang a basket of sweets on the doorknob, knock on the door and ran off. The targeted loved one would chase him down and plant a kiss.

At thirteen I thought boys were icky but loved a good chase. It was getting on dusk but I saw it was Johnny Atkinson leaving my driveway.

His father was a good friend of my father. They both worked together as Forest Rangers and Johnny’s father loved to tease me about boys, especially Johnny.

With my trusty German Shepard dog by my side I bolted out the door and down the street after Johnny. He was a good runner and got almost to the door of his home before I caught him in the driveway.

There in the driveway, my dog jumped him...Did I mention Johnny was afraid of dogs?

Once Johnny was on the ground and my dog barking furiously, I didn’t know what to do. The fun was in the chase, I didn’t want to kiss him.

It was taken out of my hands -he was lying on his back, yelling loudly and waving his arms in the air to ward off the dog. No way he was interested in a kiss at that moment!

An outside light went on and I saw Johnny’s father smiling in the doorway.

I called off the dog, who was only barking, turned and high-tailed home, leaving the frightened Johnny without his kiss for the lovely candy he left on my doorknob to celebrate May 1 -May Basket Day.

My mother teased me for a long time about Johnny and his father teased him about the whole incident.

Nowadays I don’t know of anyone who celebrates the fun tradition of May Basket Day!

F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine


Thanks For The Visit!

Happy May 1st

Sort:  

I had never heard of that tradition thanks for the info its a nice one tip!

Welcome and thanks so much @tattoodjay for your generosity. 😊

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

What a wonderful way to celebrate!

Thanks Icy @icybc. It was fun even if you got teased a lot after getting a May Basket. 😃

A great story and tradition! Sad that the simple and sweet things aren't celebrated like that anymore. I had never heard of it before so I'm really glad you shared your story!! ❤

Thanks Dee. I thought of my May Basket experience and did the post after my cousin Bobby messaged me last evening and asked if I remembered May Baskets and Johnny. ❤️ 😊

You're very welcome and thank you to your cousin Bobby as well!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What a fun story, I have definitely never heard of that tradition before. Poor Johnny with the doggy :). And who can refuse a whole basket of sweet candy!

Thanks @eonwarped. Those are fun memories for me but you are right- Johnny had a rough May Basket evening.
There was another incident when I was older at an May 1st gathering called a May Basket Social. A dance was held at the high school and an auction- the girls made up a picnic basket and the boys would bid on the baskets hoping to get the one of their sweetheart. I have a little story about that for another time . 😊

Hehehe... looking forward to it.

I think May baskets got mixed up with Easter baskets. It is a beautiful tradition. May 1st is labor day in a lot of the world and there were some problems. If people would just give May baskets maybe some of the problems would go away.

Thanks Christopher @mineopoly. Yes the world would be a lot better sweeter place if we gave more May Baskets. 🍭 🍬.

Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Thanks @tattoodjay! appreciated.

Nice! So how is your relationship with johny these days? This story got me curious.haha

Hi @alvinauh. Nice to hear from you. Poor dear Johnny turned out to be a good friend during high school. We were never romantically involved but would meet at the school ground on Saturdays and practice the high/broad jump and often went with our fathers to relocate beavers, etc.
Johnny was in the 12 Grade when his father was transferred from our small village to a town. Johnny and the rest of the family went with him. After graduation I moved away and was not anywhere near Johnny to keep contact with him.
By chance I ran into Johnny one summer afternoon. He was with his wife. He patted her stomach and proudly said there was a little bun in the oven. By the look on her face, I don’t think his wife liked that reference!
Years later I was excited to see Johnny at a high school reunion. He was with his wife and acting strange. I never really got a chance to talk with him. Apparently there were lots of buns in the oven as they had five children. They divorced a few years later and rumour was he had gone off the rails a bit, drinking and carousing-this doesn’t sound like the Johnny I knew!
Sadly the last I heard of Johnny was reading his obituary three years ago. I felt bad as I still see him as the fresh faced eager young man of my youth. May my dear friend R.I.P.

oh I didn't know about this tradition, does sound like a fun tradition to do though. I'll have to remember to do this next year

Hey @cobmaximus. Thanks for the visit. It would be lovely to delight your sweetheart with this tradition next May. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05