You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we talk about bid bots for a second?

in #bidbot6 years ago

Hi @aggroed,
Very nice post and I agree with you on all.
especially this part

"shitposters who receive bot upvotes are raping the pool."

I have been using http://www.steembottracker.com for a while to try and make a smart bid. Considering that I barely have 2-5 SBD collected with hard work from several of my posts, I want to make the most out of it and give more publicity to my posts.

The problem is that

  1. Most people are greedy and not smart. So instead of checking the reward pool and deciding to let people betting in that time slot get something out of it, they just bid with higher amounts. They want to hog all the bidbot rewards to themselves and they end up losing and letting others lose.
    As if waiting for the next bidding cycle is going to kill them or something

  2. Most people with shit posts have lots of SBD (since they know how to exploit the system without feeling bad), so they end up ruining the bid bot for everyone.

My 2 cents: I humbly suggest that the owners of the bid-bot track those who uses the bot and discern whether they are shitposters or goodposters. Then they can prohibit the voting on the shit posts and just return the money, or not so these shit posters will learn a lesson.

I think the bidbots have lots of data that can be used for that already.

As for flagging, it is hard to stalk and find those shitposters all day long, so they will learn to avoid flaggers somehow. Hence, I don't see that as a good solution, however, it doesn't hurt to be vigilant of course.

Hope the bid-bot developers will look into this and implement it (if they are caring about steemit and not only about making money, no matter how)

Best,
Dr. TLK :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73