Bitcoin - The FED cut rates, now what?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin5 years ago

The FED cut rates, what should we expect now for bitcoin?

Basically the same that we expected before... higher prices going forward.

It had been expected for weeks and months now that the FED would eventually have to start cutting rates.

The president had been calling for it for months now, claiming that markets would be even higher had they been cutting rates instead of raising them.

However, this recent rate cut wasn't exactly what I and many others had expected...

Instead of this being the beginning of a new easing cycle, it sounds like the FED doesn't want to cut any more unless they absolutely have to.

Stating that this was just a mid-cycle rate cut instead of a new easing cycle.

That wasn't what the markets, or myself, really wanted to see.

(Source: https://www.bbc.com/news/business-49183329)

What does that mean for bitcoin?

Overall, this is still rocket fuel for bitcoin.

Anything that weakens the dollar and promotes 'easy-money' is good news for bitcoin.

It's bullish, but not quite as bullish as I had originally hoped it would be.

However, right after the cut, even more fuel was heaped on...

The Donald couldn't contain himself not being the main talking point in the news for a few days so he decided he would hike tariffs on China.

This basically came out of left field as most thought the trade war with China was winding down.

This fresh round of tariffs signals that the war is not winding down, and in fact is escalating.

Interesting enough, bitcoin started this recent bullish run around the same time the US and China trade wars began...

It's possible this will also help put a bid under bitcoin in the near term (again) as well.

So, now we have a rate cut and a fresh round of tariffs with China.

Two things that should help the bitcoin bull thesis going forward.

Stay informed my friends.

-Doc

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Was curious to see how you would respond to this, Doc. My friends seem to agree Apple earnings and the rate cuts were things to be pleased about for different reasons. My skeptic nature led me to disagree at the onset, but what is the reason for that? These tariffs are as belligerent as a boy in tantrum., might I add. It speaks well for the cryptocurrency thesis, so I'm increasing my stake in the matter. How do you feel about the coming months?

I think the backdrop is there for bitcoin to be bullish for the coming months. Easy money, lower rates, and the halving all point to higher prices in my opinion. Not to mention all the increases in adoption we are seeing... it should all help going forward.

I think your thoughts are very good, I hope to discuss with you, you can add my Whatsapp+852 51739707

Thanks for the news.

You got it.

Soon, Trump will make the dollar weaker to take the trade war with China a step further and that will benefit cryptos for sure!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wouldn't be shocked if he did...

I think your thoughts are very good, I hope to discuss with you, you can add my Whatsapp+852 51739707

ive been expecting them to cut for a while and reverse from their raising rates
you can always count on the govt to do the wrong thing at the worst time lol
thats how i stay ahead of the game
good post and hope all is well bud
cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97