Binance Down for Next 12 Hours (Unannounced!)

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Top2 volume exchange after Bitfinex just went down without notice. They say for 12 hours.

Since such long unannounced downtimes often mean trouble - people are scared and mad for now.

I suggest to join decentralized exchanges like OpenLedger which has STEEM and SBD.

As i wrote in post some time ago - the moment you send money to exchange, they are not yours. Send only what you can afford to lose.

CEO of Binance

Where to trade?

I suggest:

Follow, Resteem and VOTE UP @kingscrown creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

These kind of outages are incredibly frustrating when you are trying to make a time sensitive trade, so I can understand why people panic and make a fuss. On the other hand there are inevitably going to be problems that cause down time every once in a while, so it would be irrational to get too angry at them.

I was a bit worried when I saw the news today and had to login to my account and see my coins are ok but the withdraw or trading is suspended.. so I will wait for it to come back online in the next day and withdraw the coins I want to hold long term.. will get them in to a wallet.

oh very bad news really

I have Binance. I'm a programmer and these kind of issues are normal specially with this kind of site who's handling lots of data every second. They sure need to upgrade their system every now and then.

You give me confidence and the light is otherwise bleek.

Agreed. I'm in the industry as well and resyncing databases for a global app is a fairly reasonable excuse as to why their service is down.

That’s crazy! I signed up for Binance a few days ago. I didn’t deposit any crypto but did explore their platform for a bit. Hopefully the get straightened out seeing as they just added steem to their exchange!

and also Bluzelle and Aeternity just recently.

I don't think It's anything to worry about. They do have a lot of trading activity, which is clearly going to have an effect on the sites security. With that in mind, I'd rather they go offline for 12 hours than risk being hacked.

hope to revive soon

I have a Binance account but don’t trade much on there so this doesn’t effect me really.

Still, annoying for some I am sure...you always would like to have access to your funds and trading abilities.

I am sure they will sort it out soon. Until then, bunker down and HODL.

Thanks for sharing.

Chill out - this is the message from Binance.
"We experienced a server issue on our replica database cluster, causing some data to be out of sync. Need to fully resync from master. Due the size of the data, it will take several hours. No data is lost. We appreciate your understanding and support."

Maintenance is OK. But unannounced? That sucks!

The "unannounced" is the sad part. Let's give them the benefit of the doubt :)

When one of these go down I always kick myself for leaving any money on exchanges. Thanks for posting the quote though- this sounds reasonable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27