The BlockChain Blogger: Bridging the Gap Between Steemit Whales And Minnows

in #blockchain-blogger7 years ago (edited)

app_co_2


Have you ever marveled at the fanatically engaged communities surrounding the @papa-pepper's and @stellabelle's of Steemit?

Seen and felt how intensely connected and loyal the audience was to the work and ideas of the person that they followed?

You may have also wondered how you can create an equally engaged audience for your own blog? If you have, then you and I share something in common.

We’ve both wondered what creates that sort of connection – what secret ingredients foster that kind of intense loyalty, and what recipe can be followed to find and attract those loyal followers to your cause?

I am introducing The Blockchain Blogger for both of us.

You see, over the last five months, as I built my own following my blog, I’ve learned some of the answers to those questions – and realized that there are so many more questions that I need the answers to.

So I will be reaching out to the people who did have the answers, and asking them those question that had been on my mind for so long, and is probably on your mind as well

Questions like “If you had to start over and build an engaged audience from scratch, how would you do it?”

The BlockChain Blogger aims at answering questions like this and many others.

The answers that we will be given would no doubt be varied in Nature. As no two persons are the same, so the interview would be in the form of series.

You can Read the First Steemisode with @kyriacos on my blog
..
Getty_Images_536906971_198641
Google

..

Apart from the interviews I would also be sharing what I learnt from I learnt from Steemians and Non- Steemians about Online ethics and other important things to know.

I also run two interviews here on Steemit

The first is called The Rainmakers, where i interview people who are playing their own part in the development of Steem/Steemit, my last two guests were @papa-pepper and @kingscrown, and my guest for next week is @good-karma.

The second is called The Inkpot where i interview esthablished Steemian Authors and Poets on @literature-trail, my last two guest were @jedau and @ezzy.

I also run the fifty word story Contest on @literature-trail for New Steemians between the Reputation of 25 and 55, it is currently in its fourteenth week, this brings me in contact with a lot of new steemamians and i aim to answer the Many questions on their minds with The Blockchain Blogger.

This post would not be complete it i don't mention other community projects that are helping to fast track growth here on Steemit.

The First is the Current support a Minnow project being run by the majestic @aggroed that is aimed at getting more Whales to follow Minnows, Upvote and Resteem their posts

The second is the @unMean-sTweets initiative which aims at encouraging Steemit writers with good comments, this initiative was powered by @surpassinggoogle who is also the brain behind SteemGigs.

The third i would like to mention is the @onequality initiative by the amazing @fisteganos that is aimed at improving the quality of posts here on steemit, he is consistently working hard to improve the quality of the post of new steemians he is working with, and it was his actions that inspired the creation of the blockchain blogger.

You can help this post get more coverage by resteeming it, i will be promoting it with some SBD.

Thanks for reading and don't forget to share your thoughts in the comments below.

You can get the first episode of The Block Chain Blogger Here

Follow @ogochukwu for more Info

Sort:  

You are doing an incredible amount of community building @ogochukwu!

Thank you for all that you do for steemit!

Thank you @papa-pepper

You are a shining example to all of us.

Yes... I agree about that :)

I am happy to become your 600th follower thanks to this post. I look forward to reading more by you.

So many amazing initiatives in here. It's a little mind blowing. I appreciate all the posts and help directed towards us minnows! Will be following for sure!

Thanks for reading and thanks for the follow

The only thing i care about is making SteemIt more fair for new users. Currently 1 Paris Hilton will for example increase author rewards by $10 while 100 new users won't even add $0.01. That means we got a big fucking problem, right? Unless we come to the scientific conclusion that Paris Hilton is smarter than 100 random people combined.

The difference in reputation between you and the author is 10. Interestingly, when I voted on the author's post it went up by roughly 40 cents. Voting on your comment added 1 cent.

timing of votes matter too. sometimes too votes enter the same time as you upvoted the post without your knowledge and you will a drastic move in the potential payout of the post!

Interesting, this is the second time in a short period this problem has come up. It's highly confusing to everyone. This is what i replied:

"Yes it is, and that's actually a bug, votes don't update unless your refresh the page. You have to look at how many votes the post or comment has before you vote and then see if more people voted than just you (a vote will update the votecount)."

Thanks for that. It does make sense, and I doubt there is a way to fix that without having the browser refresh the page every few seconds. By the time I read the post and submitted my vote, several people may have already voted before me. I didn't think my vote could make that much of a difference! However, having said that, as far as I know, my vote WILL be different for people with differing reputation. And according to what I have read, reputation grows exponentially.

As far as i understand it reputation has zero influence on money, it only influences how much reputation you will change of other users.

Generally, a person with higher reputation has more Steem Power, and SP is what drives the value of votes. Please see https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/answering-common-questions-about-voting-and-curation

Yeah noshit, because it isn't a reputation system, but a popularity system. The algorithms are all horrible.

I don't think many will disagree with you there. Here's hoping they fix it soon.

I also don't see why an article can only get a reward for 7 days. It shouldn't be very hard to make it so that payment is made weekly on every article regardless of its age. Why can't someone who sees an article 10 years after its posting date enjoy it and vote for it with the author still getting "royalties" from their work?

Loading...

For those of us in the dark about what the hardfork is discussed to likely do, could you comment, please?

Hardfork is like an update, something like windows 9 to 10 etc. Several as happened since steemit started and steemit is still in beta! When it has been agreed upon that new feature or functionality etc should be done, then a hardfork takes place effects it. i will do a post later that will touch on what the upcoming hardfork will accomplish so look at later today! You can always reach out to me, if you feel you need more info!

Awesome, I look forward to it.

o
Oh my gosh I forget we are still in beta. What do you believe will happen when it releases? I always imagined it in a perpetual beta. However if they are going to release completed software the Whales could be incentivized to help minnows if they competed for limited early access :-)

Not entirely, in fact maybe only just slightly. But let's see when it gets released. Can they hurry up? :p

It is a matter of weeks!

One could only hope. Release dates are impossible to accurately estimate within software development.

Yes but based on what's heard it is in weeks cos concesus hs been reached sinced steemit blog has published it and code is ready!

Amen!!!! I've recently gotten back on thr platfrom and find that discovering content from "minnows" is really hard. I don't have that much upvote power but I want to contribute to the little guys.

The best thing we can do to make noobs adopt is to be helpful and support their efforts. It's as simple and yet difficult because the reward for voting papa-pepper is 10-fold. I reward followers equally. And encourage interaction. I think it's the best I can do in addition to powering up max.

yes I love making friends with steemit whales, it pays off so well, bt also steemit minnows who post alo will all eventualy become dolphisn whose upvotes canbecome valuable for u in teh future!
like how all thee early adopters who joined last year and now finally getting like $100 per ppst with all the followers theyve acquired especialy early steemit users who joined early last year like them!


Great Community Work! KEEP iT GOING!

Well-said. I think it will be good to form solid bonds between minnows and whales. The seas are vast and choppy, let's all swim together.

What do you call a group of Steemians working together to learn about the world and develop the skills to overcome obstacles: a School.

yes its like planting seeds! when you make friends with minnows who seem to post a lot and who have promise, you will nd up getting followed by them and eventualy theyll become dolphins and it will pay off! and yes more school of fish references!

well DBZfan4whale i hope u find your whale

oh it says while, oh well u should still loo for a DBZ fan whale

just imagine when specific subcultures like on beta.chainbb.com the steemit forum site were u can login with ur steemit username anposting key, and make alot more thanregular steemit, u canview all related posts so u can have a DBZ sb forum there and imagine when u meet a dbz fan whale who hooks ur DBZ posts up!

I love Puns, bring on all the water-steam puns you've got, @ackza, lol. I'm going to check out the beta.chainbb.com when I have time to devote to it. I think it may be a great way to flourish.

Thank you very much @ogochukwu for very informative blog, keep up the great work to educate us - highly appreciated.

So many initiatives.. so little time.

Absolutely love what you do. Thank you for listing down all the intiatives you know running on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59